Spring, a change of name, and worries about Corona in The View from the Terrace

Revised: 03/15/2020 11:06 a.m.

  • March 14, 2020, 11:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am really enjoying the spring weather. On Thursday it was warm enough to sit in the garden, albeit with a fleece over my jumper. I managed to prune some roses when I was at home on Wednesday and yesterday afternoon I planted the trailing anemones in Cat’s garden. I have to say that I shouldn’t really be calling her Cat anymore as she changed to using one of her middle names, Louise, a while back. It was her way of moving on and I have been calling her that for some time, but I didn’t change it here as I thought it would be confusing, but it is beginning to feel inappropriate so I am going to change over. It seems to be a bit of a tradition in our family not to use your right name. My mum’s name was Mildred but she hated it and was always called Poppy from a pet name her father called her; her sister was Winifred but went by Jackie as her surname was Jackson; while my great grandmother changed from Mary Ann to Marion because she thought Mary Ann was a maid’s name! Hubby’s dad was Clarence Archibald but his wife always him Arthur and Hubby changed to his second name when he left home so Louise (Cat) is in good company.

I haven’t been feeling too well lately. I’m still getting bouts of nausea and I am beginning to wonder if it could be a side effect of the blood pressure tablets. I did mention it to the doctor when I saw him last Wednesday but he just said it wasn’t a usual side effect and told me to double my dose as my blood pressure is still high. I decided to wait for the nausea to settle first, but it got really bad for a couple of days so I haven’t increased the dose yet. It’s a lot better now but still not right. Then the night before last I woke about 6am with a cough. It turned out I just had a runny nose and was on my back. I often get a runny nose at the start of a migraine and that was all it seemed to be until late morning when I started feeling feverish. This continued on and off through the day but no other symptoms and I wasn’t too worried until I turned on the news and they were talking about elderly people being at a higher risk if they get Corona. I feel better today and I don’t think I’ve got anything but is it just a matter of time for all of us?

I was planning to go home on Tuesday for our folk club on St Patrick’s night but should I go? Even if I don’t I know Hubby will and, if anything, I am more worried about him as he is always so ill when he just gets a cold, whereas I am usually not badly affected. They are talking now of telling all elderly people to stay home for months. I can’t see how that would work if they live with younger people who are still going out. It would be really difficult for us as Louise (Cat) can’t drive alone and I wouldn’t get to finish pruning my roses! Oh well, now that the weather has improved I suppose we could at least spend time in Louise’s little garden.
alt text


Last updated March 15, 2020


Marg March 15, 2020

It’s really difficult to know what to do for the best isn’t it especially if you’re in the high risk category? We still have to live and I feel being isolated for months on end is going to bring its own problems - it does appear most of us are going to get it eventually. But there’s no harm in limiting social contact for a bit just now if you can.

Jinn March 19, 2020

We are on a total lock down here and have been for four days now. My husband and oldest son work for the state so they still have to go to work . Restaurants are open only for carry out. Grocery stores are open but the shelves are mostly bare, gas stations are open, car repair places, and hospitals( medical clinic). Everyone is supposed to stay in their houses and not socialize. We are supposed to be off the streets at 9 pm. It’s such a strange world these days.

Sabrina-Belle Jinn ⋅ March 19, 2020

We haven't got a curfew here yet. We have been told not to go to social events; weddings in some churches are restricted to 5 guests, schools will close tomorrow. People are still going to work but have been asked to work from home where possible. We are going to the supermarket tomorrow but I've no idea what stocks they will have.

Jinn Sabrina-Belle ⋅ March 19, 2020

Good luck ! It might be better there than here. At any rate we certainly are not starving :-) Stay Safe !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.