46 in 2020

  • March 14, 2020, 10:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s my birthday today! And I get to spend it social distancing, which is fine by me.

I typically do a big grocery shop every two weeks on payday. Yesterday was my usual biweekly shop day, so I did what I normally do - made a list, ordered through Kroger ClickList and planned to go pick it up at 4pm before I picked the kids up from school. Around noon, I headed out to run some errands (my Dane ran out of anti-inflammatory meds so I went to the vet to get some more, plus we were almost out of coffee so I went to Sprouts to get more) and while I was driving around Kroger called to tell me they were out of almost everything and had to cancel my order. So I got to partake in the grocery store chaos first hand, and I’m sure it looked like I was stockpiling but really it was just my usual biweekly grocery shop plus some extra snacks because I know my kids will eat more being home all the damn time.

It was amazing how empty some of the shelves were. There was absolutely no toilet paper or clorox wipes, and things like canned goods and bread were heavily picked over. Meat was a little bit picked over too, but there was still plenty of what I needed. I got the last three 12-packs of Coke Zero on the shelf, which is good because Rob is an addict and if he had to go without that it would be a long week indeed!

I got home just in time to put the groceries away and go pick up the kids from school. While I was in the carpool line, I texted my boss to see if the library had made any decisions about closing. At that time they were still planning to be open as usual this weekend, but then she called me around 5:30pm to tell me the mayor announced the closing of all public buildings - so the library, community center, etc. are all closed to the public for the forseeable future. She told me not to come in today, but to come in Monday at 10am so we can work on some non-patron projects. I’m actually excited about that, more time with books and less with people sounds great to me! And quite frankly I will need to get out of the house by then, since Rob and the kids will be home all day every day for at least the next two weeks.

The kids’ taekwondo school has decided to stay open, but they are not going to do any contact drills. I’m glad they’ll have somewhere to go to get their energy out though!

I’ve got a few friends coming over tonight to watch a movie and play some games. We’re going to order pizza and I will tip REALLY well because I feel so bad for service industry employees who don’t have the option to just stay home.

My anxiety was over the top yesterday, but I’m feeling a little calmer today. I hope I can maintain some zen.


Calicakes March 15, 2020

Happy Belated!!

Adira Calicakes ⋅ March 15, 2020

Thank you :)

Honor March 15, 2020

I’m glad you had a happy birthday and speaking from experience, library jobs that are done with no patrons around are the best ever! Have fun!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.