Don't Panic in 2020

  • March 12, 2020, 8:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

…even though it seems like that’s what everyone is doing.

Today Rob’s office declared that starting Monday everyone will be working from home for two weeks. He’d already planned to take the day off tomorrow to do some work on his car, and he’s wondering aloud if he could just get into the office and get more work done over the next two weeks without anyone around to bug him. I don’t think that’s how it’s going to go, though.

The kids came home from school today saying their teachers seemed to be preparing them for the possibility of e-learning. As soon as they said that, I checked my email - sure enough, right around that time the district announced that beginning Monday all schools will be closed. Apparently it’s indefinitely, as they didn’t announce an end date. They’ll go to school as usual tomorrow, get information from all their teachers about how assignments, tests, and grading will be done, and then starting Monday it’s at-home learning for who knows how long. My kids have some experience with this, since they were in the online school last year - but it’s still pretty unnerving.

As for me, the library announced today that they’re cancelling all public programs for the rest of the month. No official announcements on closure yet but honestly I’m expecting it soon. I hope I can go in on Saturday and get a bunch of books for my kids before they really shut it down. I may go to our local library (the one where I work is about half an hour away) tomorrow to get some stuff just in case.

I’m also picking up a big grocery order tomorrow. Everyone is worried about running out of toilet paper, I’m more concerned about food. I think we’ll be fine, just want to be prepared with a little extra stuff. I think I’ll add some baking mixes and peanut butter to our list just in case.

I’m honestly not really worried about the virus, I just don’t want to end up a carrier and accidentally infect someone who’s part of a vulnerable population - like my mom, or my inlaws. I have a few friends whose medically fragile parents live with them, that’s infinitely more scary.

Guess I’ll just be hunkering down with my four dogs ;)


Telstar March 12, 2020

Don't panic......……

Good advice.

Honor March 13, 2020

We don’t have it on the island, but I know it’s just a matter of time before the freak out starts. So far toilet paper is everywhere but hand sanitizer is very much not. I’m also more worried about being a carrier since my parents are high risk. Hopefully we will all be fine.

Calicakes March 15, 2020

The libraries in our town have closed, basically everything has shut down. Now I just read that California is shutting down all bars, nightclubs, wineries and brew pubs. Also, restaurants have to make sure tables are 6ft apart. Starbucks have removed all the inside and out door tables and will be to go only.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.