Thursday in 2020

  • Feb. 27, 2020, 3:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m watching The Trials of Gabriel Fernandez on Netflix and it’s making me super ragey. That poor kid was failed on so many levels by so many people. I know I’m not mother of the year - when I’m tired or stressed, I tend to yell a bit more than is necessary - but for fuck’s sake, I would NEVER treat a child like that. I’m going to hug the hell out of my kids when they get home from school, and they’re going to be confused and shrug it off because they’re middle schoolers, but I hope they know how much I love them.

Anyway! In happier news, the boxer is officially ours. I’m sad for her owner who wasn’t able to reclaim her, but I’m so incredibly happy that we get to keep her safe and happy for the rest of her life. I took her to the vet today to get her on flea and heartworm prevention, and they scanned her and found a microchip but when they looked it up it was dated January 2016 but never registered. That means she’s about a year older than we thought - the rescue org had told us she was 3, but she’s probably 4 or maybe even 5. Also, she weighs 40 lbs, and the vet said she’s a healthy weight which makes me happy. When she came to us back in November, she weighed 25 lbs and was super skinny.

The puppy also had to go to the vet this week, she got her third set of puppy shots! Just one more set and we’re done with those. Then I need to start looking for an obedience class for her, she’s a willful little beast and I love her but she is driving us all a little crazy. She’s doing really well with her house training though - very few accidents, and she’s mastered the dog door.

Rob is in Montana this week. It looks so beautiful up there but it is too damn cold for me, so I don’t envy him that! He got his bonus from work this week but it’s all going to house and car expenses. Hurray for adulting!


Honor February 27, 2020

Congrats on your new old new addition! I know you’ll have a lifetime of joy with her.

mcbee February 27, 2020

Boxers are the best!

-d February 28, 2020

OMG....me and my wife are watching that show too! That poor little boy! And I'm glad you get to keep the boxer!

Calicakes February 29, 2020

What are your dogs names?

Adira Calicakes ⋅ March 01, 2020

Duchess, Layla, and Phaser.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.