Tell me to get a life in Getting my feet wet. Jumping in

Revised: 02/24/2020 8:20 p.m.

  • Feb. 24, 2020, midnight
  • |
  • Public

The theme for today’s unsolicited text messages (3) and voicemails (2) have been inquiring if I was interested in selling my property. 2 people called me Maria, 3 of them the first word was “hey”. Only one gave me the address they were calling about and I have no idea where that street is. One said they were driving though the neighborhood and like my house and would like to move their family in it. (Really?). A couple mentioned they were willing to offer Fair Market Value in cash and take care of all closing costs. Bob was the only person who introduced himself, but who knows if Bob has a last name.
I’m sure these people went to a “How to Flip a House and Make Money” seminar. I feel certain these people are trying to get ahead and are trying to make ends meet. There was a something that pulled on my heart. Beneath the voicemails and text messages there was a feeling of a bit of despair of good people.
This is where I must have been bored and someone should have told me “Get a life!” I responded to each of the 5 messages with free advice. I told each of them I was sure they are decent people trying hard to get by. I suggested they do due diligence before a cold call. Don’t let your first word be “Hey!” Tell them your full name. If you go to the trouble to look up their phone number, remember their name and address. If you really drove by the house, why were you interested in it? Let me know you really drove by it. What about being honest? I know it can be scary? Even if it’s “If you have thought about selling, I would like to make you an offer for investing.” Give them your website or at least text your business card. I urged them to be mindful that they are contacting people who sometimes are struggling too. I blessed them in their endeavor.


Last updated February 24, 2020


noko February 25, 2020

There are advantages to renting. :)

Etaine noko ⋅ February 25, 2020

Yes there is. I couldn’t agree more

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.