Making Progress in Getting my feet wet. Jumping in

Revised: 02/22/2020 8:50 p.m.

  • Feb. 22, 2020, midnight
  • |
  • Public

Phil turned 73 yesterday. He was subdued, didn’t want supper or birthday cake. He did take my stepdad out for lunch, so I’m not too concerned. I got him a set of stained glass bookends that light up. Both he and I are suckers for any type of stained glass. He went to bed without “I love you” or a kiss.
This morning he had my tea brewed when I got up. He asked me if I had a book on Buddhism, I pulled out Living Buddha, Living Christ. He asked me if there was anything I wanted to do. With the stress filled week we had, I just wanted a gentle day at home. He agreed. He is beginning to do the things he usually does. He has also started talking but he is distant and his eyes still glazed. I think he is still detoxing. The dogs are very attentive to Phil.
Yesterday I finished the Spoonbill painting. Today I started on 2 portraits - just the first layers. Also I started painting a group of robins enjoying a birdbath. It was nice to spend about 3 hours in the studio. I will try to post photos. https://flic.kr/p/2iwwHpf https://imgur.com/a/iIrbSNZ

I was able to find a place online to print playing cards. Actually there is a couple of places, but most want you to order at least 5 decks. I was able to find one with no minimum purchase and the price was reasonable. So I ordered the magic cards and they will ship to him. Now I have a renewed interest in completing an oracle card deck.
Does anyone play Words With Friends? If you do, do you get random people who want to get to know you and chat? They claim to be a widow and are raising a child, but they don’t tell you anything else? One of these people sent several messages on WWF, saying they were so worried that I hadn’t responded to their message in 2 days. Really!?! Is it just me or is that a red flag?


Last updated February 22, 2020


noko February 23, 2020

Glad you were able to get the quiet time in the studio. There is a new online course on drawing and painting birds from Cornell on sale and I am tempted. It would take me a long time to get to your level. It sounds like things are settling down.

Etaine noko ⋅ February 23, 2020

Things are setting down. Thank you. If you have a desire to paint or draw go for it. I’ve only been painting for 3 years. It’s a process like anything else.

NorthernSeeker February 24, 2020

Sorry...I couldn't see your painting or I would have commented.

Etaine NorthernSeeker ⋅ February 24, 2020

I’m working on how to get the paintings posted. I’m going to try what Tesse recommends.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.