Auchincloss *bit more* in The Book Book

  • March 20, 2014, 4:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I took Tales of Manhattan by Louis Auchincloss to work with me today.

Like so many beautiful women (or at least like so many former beauties) she was instinctively, pointlessly if you wish, a politician with no visible goal beyond the compulsion to please.

 photo DSC04945.jpg

Old picture. My hair is shorter and there is now a coffee pot on the counter. This was before I gave up pop and wheat. And before Gracie had to eat my pizza bottoms.

 photo DSC04943.jpg

  • bit more *

The book is too good to take to work. It's a hardcover, first printing, copyrights 1964 through 1967. It has a good dust jacket with a full page really nice photo of the author and his son on the back. The dustcover has a plastic cover - I think the book store guy put that on. I put it in a plastic bag in my tote bag but it gets banged around pretty bad. I need to find a less 'nice' book to take with me to work.

Not that books lead an easy life in my house. You can imagine.


Brakeshoe Bob March 20, 2014

great pictures great thought ... it all comes together...Dogs, gotta love 'em as well.

thesunnyabyss March 21, 2014

the photo of you and Gracie is awesome and I love that second one too, I miss books, they seem fewer and fewer these days,

gattaca March 21, 2014

I love that photo of you and Gracie. :-)

NorthernSeeker March 21, 2014

Gracie is happy to eat your pizza bottoms.

That sounds like a good book. I'm loyally slogging my way through one that my daughter gave me for Christmas.

jamez March 21, 2014

I’ve given up books, I find them tiring to read these day’s, for two years I’ve had a Kindle reader, these days I travel with fifty books. I’m reading a book of Winston Churchill’s rather sharp wit, I think those around him needed thick skin!

Florentine March 21, 2014

I misread, and thought for a moment that you said you gave up pot and wheat. :)

ThoughtsAfter March 21, 2014

I love thinking of you reading Tales of Manhattan in your farm kitchen with Gracie so near and the new coffee pot.

woman in the moon ThoughtsAfter ⋅ March 22, 2014

I've had a fascination with NYC and literature and that kind of stuff (I'm trusting you to know what I mean) at least since the 8th grade when my country school teacher brought me a couple copies of the New Yorker that the town's newspaper publisher's wife had left at the library. The teacher knew what they were because she had worked as a nanny for a wealthy jewish family in Chicago. God life is such a gift. My connection with NYC and literature, etc. has allowed me to stay in my mother's kitchen yet know there is a world out there.

Deleted user March 22, 2014

I love the picture. Books have a hard life at my house too but they still seem to multiply like rabbits ...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.