Reality check: the headbutted-by-a-cat edition cat šŸˆ in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Feb. 22, 2020, 7:28 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

WHERE: Iā€™m in bed having a very rare lie in. On my lap is Oreo, the black cat. She gets up periodically to headbutt me, just to remind me that sheā€™s there and hasnā€™t been fed yet but itā€™s Saturday morning and not even 7am yet (I did say lie-in, not sleep-in!). Outside the birds are singing their hearts out and I canā€™t hear much traffic which is a sound that always takes me back to childhood. I grew up in a semi rural area with a long back garden full of trees, bushes and a long beech hedge. It was always (and still is) full of birds who went crazy as it got light. Itā€™s a lovely, nostalgic feeling for me.

WEARING: apart from the cat? Iā€™m wearing four rings, a 4Ocean bracelet, a Save the Turtles bracelet, an Ehlers Danlos awareness bracelet and an LGBT+ awareness bracelet (although its rainbow has faded to a pretty pastel šŸ˜‚). I also have my tree of life necklace, a silver ring in my belly button and five earrings in various parts of my ears. Oh, and a 1995 Jacksonville Jazz Festival T Shirt because itā€™s extra large and keeps me warm on cold nights like last night.

FITNESS UPDATE: after I had a flu like virus over Christmas my running really took a hit. Iā€™m still struggling with longer distances (my brother and I headed out to run six miles last Sunday and I ended up walking quite a lot if it. Iā€™m going to try for six again tomorrow (as long as my sore throat doesnā€™t suddenly develop into an evil chest infection)). However, Iā€™m getting the odd mile in under 10 minutes on my shorter runs. Also, I spent the last six months of last year eating sugar like a kid in a candy shop with no supervisionā€¦ 2 stone (28lbs or 13kg) later I realised something had to give. Iā€™ve lost 10lbs so far which also helps the running.

IN THE NEWS: am I the only one who actively tries to avoid the news now? I really feel like everything is plummeting towards shit and feel incredibly ostrich-like about it. A Lot of the UK is under water following two huge rain/wind storms which just feels like a harbinger of global warming to me. Politics is a pile of rich bastards rolling roughshod over the also rans, the every day folk: you and me. People being shot, people being stabbed, terrorist attacks being planned. Hate, hate, hate. Just living in a world of hate and mistrust. I need another planet.

READING: in 1994 I moved to Jacksonville, Florida. I went two days before my 24th birthday so my family gave me some presents to take with me. One of those was a book given to me by my older sister and itā€™s called The Great American Bus Ride by Irma Kurtz. Sheā€™s better known as the Cosmopolitan agony aunt; an American who settled in London. She has worked for Cosmo for over forty years and is now in her 80s. So, in the early 90s she took a small bag containing a change of pants, some trail mix and a book, a notebook and a pen before commencing a journey around the contiguous USA on the Greyhound bus. I read it about once a decade and it is an absolute favourite. I have travelled a bit on greyhound myself, just in Florida, and have a few stories to tell from my experiences too. I closed the book last night just after she escaped from Dinosaur, Colorado. She wasnā€™t captured or anything, the name intrigued her so she got off the bus at 4am to discover there is very little there, other than a couple of life size dinosaur statues and a gas station. The manager of said gas station was suspicious of this rather scruffy lady hanging about in her store all day, waiting for the next greyhound outta there so Irma, for the only time in her journey, resorted to removing a magazine from the rack, opening it the appropriate page, pointing at the photo and saying, ā€œLook, thatā€™s me!ā€ The manager then took Irma to dinosaur national park and then to the next big town in order to catch a bus onto the next part of her journey. One ongoing thing I like about this book is that I still love her outlook on life. As Iā€™ve grown older, I find that I start disagreeing with things Iā€™ve appreciated when younger but Irma Kurtzā€™s thought processes, while spending nights in bus stations and days watching the American landscape slide by, are still close to my heart.

ACTIVITIES TODAY: Rich is going to Reading to visit a friend, T wants me to dye her hair half green and half yellow. Dyeing her hair causes her enormous stress so that will be fun!

THINKING ABOUT: what to write here and how long I can stay in bed until my belly screams at me for breakfast!

PLANNING: I need to buy cat food and plan tomorrowā€™s meals. I also need to run a whole six mile tomorrow.... a few months ago six miles was a short run! Hey Ho!

Oh, btw, Iā€™m going to have another article printed in Like The Wind magazine which comes out soon šŸ™‚


thesunnyabyss February 22, 2020

there has been so much going on in my country lately the news is hard to avoid, ugh,

445 is when my cat starting his morning stare until she gets up stare, lol, I wish they'd just cuddle up with the occasional headbutt, lol,

so good to hear you are feeling well enough to run again, hope your sore throat is nothing more than morning dryness, enjoy your runs!!!!

Deleted user February 23, 2020

I avoid the news, too. I just want to get to Election Day in the US without an aneurysm. Thank goodness for birdsong. It's a balm for the soul.

Deleted user February 25, 2020

The Great American Bus Ride sounds fascinating!
I read news every day and with great interest - but yes, it's so depressing these days. I'm glad to read Harvey Weinstein was found guilty today.

Are you feeling better? I had the flu at the beginning of January (first time ever) and boy did it hit me hard. I'm still coughing! Saw the dr today and came home with... an inhaler! ugh. Hope you are getting better.

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ February 25, 2020

Ha! Inhalers have been a part of my life forever! I hope you feel better soon xx

colojojo February 26, 2020

I feel like I would enjoy that book.

Jinn March 19, 2020

I can not avoid the news these days :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.