New Day, New Diary in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • March 19, 2014, 5:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, I just found Prosebox via a facebook entry by another former OD (OpenDiary) member such as myself. I had no idea that OD had shut down until after the fact, so I was, regrettably, unable to download the last three years of entries. That kind of upsets me, but c'est la vie. Not much to me; I am the 53 year old widower of three sons, two of whom still live at home with me. I have three grandsons from my oldest boy, and a beautiful young daughter in law. My eldest son, Austin, died in an auto accident in 2000, my wife in 2012. Those are tales for another day.

I am a correctional officer by trade, an artist by ambition, and am currently working on a book just to see if I have the talent for it. I have shown it to two editors so far and both expressed interest. Not sure if they are just trying to get money on one of the many bogus publishing scams out there, but it doesn't matter. I'm going to go the self publishing route and see what kind of feedback I get from actual readers first.

The last couple of weeks have been pretty hectic. My younger sister has been diagnosed with stage 3 follicular carcinoma. It is incurable, but treatable and the doctor says she could have several more years of good health. My oldest and dearest friend has been told to get his affairs in order, but they haven't given him a time frame.

My middle son, who is 20 is giving me stress due to his inability to grow up. He has a job, but refuses to save ANY money and as a result, comes to me for gas, cell bills, insurance, etc. I tried to help him, but it just turned into him taking advantage of the situation and continuing in the same way, so I had to cut him off financially and he's giving me fits over it. Told him today if he doesn't stop running his mouth and acting like a responsible grown up, he has to move out. He says he doesn't want to hear about it, I keep bringing up the past and I need to let it go. Last Friday is apparently far enough in the past that I should ignore that he is doing exactly what I warned him would lead to this point. He had no money to pay his bills with, but was able to go out clubbing with friends for three days in a row while I was out of town. Really? He lives here rent free, all the food he can eat, and only has to let me know when he's going somewhere so I don't have to worry. He does no housework, my girlfriend does that for him which annoys me also. I keep telling her to stop cleaning up after him, but she's kinda ADHD over cleanliness.

Anyway, this entry was meant to be just an introduction and now I'm rambling, so I'll stop for now and cpme back in a day or two with something more coherent. I hope to find a few friends on here and try to re-create a bit of my last journaling experience. Later.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.