Forgiven, Forgotten, Amen in God, With Skin On

  • Feb. 7, 2020, 2:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay listeners, here is the topic for today. I am not sure there are any right or wrong answers but here goes.
Matt 12:31 reads, Therefore I tell you, every sin and blasphemy (every evil, abusive, injurious speaking, or indignity against sacred things) can be forgiven men, but blasphemy against the [Holy] Spirit shall not and cannot be forgiven.
With that thought as a premise, let me add Luke 16:18 “Everyone who divorces his wife and marries another commits adultery, and he who marries one who is divorced from a husband commits adultery.
( My legal disclaimer here: This is not in any way to be taken as I am saying someone is or is not a Christian or an Adulterer. The view and opinions expressed are merely that, opinions.)
So, if every sin can be forgiven, how do we explain the divorce and remarriage issue? The phone lines are open and I know this is a touchy issue, so please let’s keep it civil.


crystal butterfly February 07, 2020

If you confess your sin to God all is forgiven. I was an adulterer. My first husband, who I had divorce, had passed. But I got quite promiscuous later after that. Once was with a married man. Boy can the Lord get in your head and convict you of your wrong doing. I ask for forgiveness and felt the peace return. There are times now that when I see myself getting judgmental I remember my past. I ask forgiveness for what I did then and for my attitude now. I am remarried now and would never be unfaithful to my husband. I was not unfaithful to my first husband even though I know he had at least one affair. Adultery is a sin that can be forgiven. God forgave David.

Douglas Kinney crystal butterfly ⋅ February 07, 2020

I tend to agree with you on all points. And the part about conviction is very true. My wife divorced me after 31 years of marriage. To my knowledge, she didn't cheat and I know I didn't. It's those words written in RED that trouble me. But I do look at how David was a man after God's own heart and committed more than one sin!
Thanks for your comments

crystal butterfly Douglas Kinney ⋅ February 08, 2020

Remember, all sins are considered the same in God's eyes. Adultery would be the same as a 'white' lie. A 'white' lie the same as murder. The Bible says that we all have fallen short of the Glory of God. Romans 3:23. God knows we will sin. He just wants to also make sure that WE know that we sin and ask His forgiveness of our sins. I do it nightly. And that is a sin. I lied. I do it many times during the week, but not nightly. I had some sins that I knew I was doing wrong, that I was going to continue to sin so I always skipped communion Sunday because I knew I would not prepare my mind and my heart to be ready for communion.

Douglas Kinney crystal butterfly ⋅ February 10, 2020

You worry me crystal butterfly, you understand! I will admit that "Amazing Grace" is sometimes difficult for me to understand.

woman in the moon February 08, 2020

In the old days (my youth) the Catholics were pretty fussy about marriage. And sex. You got one marriage - make the most of it.
But now a lot of people get more than one. None of my business, of course.

Douglas Kinney woman in the moon ⋅ February 10, 2020

 Society has changed its view on many things. But, the Bible is still pretty plain on those subjects.  Thou Shalt Not is not a suggestion.  I was brought up in a very conservative denomination.  At that time, no women preachers, no make-up, no long hair on men, no short hair on women, and sex, never outside of marriage.  They have lightened up on all except for sex.   Divorce and remarriage were once tabu, but now it's looked at case by case.   I guess that is what troubles me. If it was wrong in the 50's, shouldn't it still be wrong in 2020?  But then I left that group after my divorce.
woman in the moon Douglas Kinney ⋅ February 10, 2020

I know people who have stayed married under difficult circumstances. Also it seems to me some people divorce over very little and others 'put up' with a lot. I understand this is due to human nature and I think sometimes it's a good thing and sometimes a bad thing.
Let me tell you a story. In my local Democrat group a discussion came up about society's ills. There was a man there who had been three years ahead of me in the small town Catholic (you knew that) high school. I graduated in 1964. I said when I was in high school I only knew of one divorced woman. He said he only knew one too - and of course it was the same woman. She was a very dignified, doctor's office worker, who obeyed the church's divorce rule and did not remarry, date or cause scandal.
Also (there's always one) a girl a year older than I was, pretty and from an advantaged family, went to the city, married and divorced, and was suddenly at age 20 totally out of the marriage in the church game. I don't know what happened to her, though I'm certain the liberalization of the church caught up with her and she is now married and catholic, if she wants to be.
I stayed married but left the church. But I know couples who waited up to ten years to have their second (sensible) marriages approved. I can think of three couples right off the top of my head.
There used to be something to the idea that when marriages were annulled the children from those marriages were considered in some way illegitimate but I don't think that was ever true. And if so, what difference does it make if you're not inheriting the crown of England.

When you said divorce is 'looked at case by case', so are some people refused the right to remarry and still be members of the church? If so, what are the grounds?

Douglas Kinney woman in the moon ⋅ February 11, 2020

The Divorce and Remarriage issue is more for us ministers. But there are some churches that still hold to the if you are divorced or remarried you can be a member, we will take your money, but you can't teach or hold any official office in the church,..ie Deacon or Deaconess. And no, I never agreed with the church on that issue. To me, it was like saying once you are divorced you are of no value to the church. If that is the case why should I try to be a Christian? I can't be saved so I will just go do whatever I want'

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.