Is This Going To Hurt? in Life After 60

  • Feb. 7, 2020, 8:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

For those who may not know, at one time in my life, I was a CNA/Medical Assistant. I tried to comfort and ease the patient’s fears for whatever procedure they were having. ( Think Podiatry Office)
I went into the exam room yesterday to remove stitches from a patient’s foot. When I walked in you could see the fear in her eyes. She asked me, “Is this going to hurt?” Being the caring, compassionate professional, I replied, ” I promise it is going to hurt you more than it will me!”....she then draws her foot back and asks, “Can I have a shot first?” I told her the shot would hurt worse than what I was going to do. She says, “Really?”…I replied, “I am sure, but then this is the first time I have ever removed stitches!!!!”....the look she gave me as I donned the gloves and pulled out the scissors was priceless.
Before she knew it, she was laughing so hard, she never noticed I had removed the stitches. See, Laughter really is the best medicine.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.