It's not intelligent. in The Napkin.

  • May 3, 2024, 1:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

You know how Windows and Mac is just a GUI over an infrastructure we used to interact with directly? So-called AI is nothing more than a search engine with a glossy output system. Whatever it’s pulling from remains hidden.

Reminds me of that episode of TNG where they had to deal with a kid’s computer, that only gave restricted results.

Yeah, I know I have a Luddite in me. These things are tools, I know. But also. The nerd in me likes seeing underneath just a little.

Search engines have gotten worse since Google’s inception. How long until people rely on so-called AI, not realizing it’s pulling from incomplete or even false data/input? Do I dare hypothesize such tools are already manipulated for nefarious purposes?

Remember: PragerU isn’t a real university.

.....

I think I’ll have my tuna wrap now.


cal May 03, 2024

I am the same way. Ever since Facebook started forcing a feed you couldn't directly control I have hated algorithms.

Timmy™ cal ⋅ May 03, 2024

It's useful for Pandora. But if I get annoyed with how repetitive the algorithm is for music I LIKE and have curated. A larger algorithm is getting more and more generic, rather than specific.

cal Timmy™ ⋅ May 03, 2024

Youtube is killing me. I get it exactly the way I like and then something flips and goes back to weeks prior.

Timmy™ cal ⋅ May 04, 2024

YouTube seems sensitive to dislikes. If I dislike one video, the entire channel gets dropped from suggestions.

cal Timmy™ ⋅ May 04, 2024

The downside being that while you don't like one video, doesn't mean you don't like a channel. Bizarre.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.