Portions & meals, not calories. in The Napkin.

  • May 1, 2024, 3:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, rest day from the gym. Skipped my oatmeal and went straight to my lb of ground meat. Today, ground chicken. With half a bag of spinach on top, of course. (Season, cover 15 minutes medium-low heat, stupidly simple.)

As I’m adding cheese, I had a moment of whether to put on a fourth slice of cheese. Then I heard myself, and immediately put the fourth one on.

One slice of cheese isn’t what’s making you fat, Samantha.

Oh, my cut’s going just great, actually. Morning scale said 178.6 lbs. Down from around 205.8 lbs on New Year’s Day. So, I think I know what I’m talking about.

I’ve done the calorie counting thing in years past, and I gotta say counting calories is retarded. It goes in one of two directions. You have the people addicted to food who want to get as much food as possible while still “losing weight”.

Then you have morons like me who have to literally set a calorie floor to keep from undereating. No exaggeration. Long time ago, I ran a cut of 1200 calories. I say 1200 calories, because otherwise I would have eaten less.

Frankly, once you learn calorie counts on foods, it is very difficult to unlearn. So, don’t start.

In short, what’s going to make a bigger dent on your cut: The number of cheesy poofs per serving, or the fact that you’re having cheesy poofs at all?

Look at the big picture. I do eat cheesecake. But, it’s once every few weeks. Package says 510 calories per container. So, there we are. Whatever my actual caloric deficit is, that’s 510 on the week.

I lurk on /r/loseit and other reddit forums, and over and over, people talk about food the way an addict talks about alcohol.

I’m not exaggerating.

The best diet or cut is the sustainable one. The style that makes you go “Ya know, when I reach my goal weight, I can continue to eat like this.” Not the crash diet one. Not the anal-retentive calorie counting one.

Now, if counting calories works for you, cool. I think SOME awareness is useful.

But in practice, I’m not fucking counting out my cheesypoofs, or depriving myself ONE SLICE OF CHEESE. It’s easier to just subtract an entire meal, and maybe not shoving your face full of food before bed.

Small meals throughout the day is great for bulking. Teaches the body to expect food on a regular basis.

My cut style seems to be large, satiating meals. Oatmeal, lb of ground meat, 6 eggs. It has worked.

Anyway.

alt text

Or, ya know, just buy them once a season.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.