The Mind of a Man; To Draw My Fingers in The Mind of a Man

  • Dec. 3, 2019, 11:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I went to an Amy Grant concert recently. The couple in front of me were in their 80’s. The husband tried to lift his arm around his wife. He struggled to do it and hit my leg. When he turned to apologize I was already tearing up…it was such a beautiful sight. I told him it was no problem. When he got his arm around her, she looked at him with Love. It motivated me to write a song about them.

To Draw My Fingers

I was not always the man I wanted to be
There were times I put myself first
and you often carried more than your fair share of the load

You were not always the bride you wanted to be
but you’re the only one I choose.
Even when I disappointed you, your love still freely flowed.

You showed me things I never knew lived.
I read ‘bout them in books, and saw them in film
but life was not as kind to me as I expected it to be.

Our children grew tall, and our children left strong
‘cause you always knew what I had to learn.
That Love can’t be kept or bought; it is endlessly given for free.

Some may say we have past our prime.
I say we have just hit our stride and will pick up the pace.
You fret about your aging lines
while I live to draw my fingers across your gorgeous face.

I will not look back; I cannot fear the past
I just want to look at you for as long as life lasts.
You have given me much more than I could have asked
For, because of this love, divine wealth I’ve amassed.

Through songs and signs, and summer ‘scapes seen
Waterfalls, winter storms, weddings and wicked ways
We’ve opened our world with this oh so bless’d wedlock.

There is less time ahead than behind for us, I know.
That much is true, and we cannot slow father time.
But we now beat as one, and our sound drowns out that clock.

Some may say we have past our prime.
I say we have just hit our stride and will pick up the pace.
You fret about your aging lines
while I live to draw my fingers across your gorgeous face.

Oh, to draw my fingers across your gorgeous face.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.