Jane Eyre, goodreads.com, & Books Books Books!! in Bell, Book and Candle

  • March 12, 2014, 12:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well I'm up to chapter 28 of Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. I'm so glad Katie got me into reading this book! I never read classics before. I was always interested in more modern books and edgy books - horror and supernatural stories mostly. Like Dean Koontz and john Saul. In fact dean Koontz is my favorite author. I have liked older works like by poe and Lovecraft. But I never really strayed far from horror/paranormal stuff. In my 20s I did read a lot of very steamy/sexy romance novels though. But that's pretty much it. And any books that were made into movies (I'm talking about classic films), I only saw the films. Never thought about reading the books. But knowing classic films more now I know that they sometimes are just based on the books because of the production code back then- the censoring nonsense- and sometimes they just change things cause that's how they want the movie to be/look. Other things as well.

I've seen the movie Jane Eyre few yrs ago-ish. I don't remember much of it. And I'm kinda glad now that I'm reading the book. The book is so moody and intense! Its made me go through different emotions! Its taking me through a great ride! Reading Jane Eyre is a wonderful journey! Great books are like that! You have to feel something!! You have to feel like your going on a mysterious trip, towards a destination. And before getting there, there maybe detours and those detours have their own adventures making you feel different ways depending on your situation. And getting to your destination - the end - you should feel like , wow that was an amazing trip! And feel lil sad that the journeys over. Sure I took actual trips where I couldn't wait for it to end :) but I haven't found a book like that. If that was the case with a book I wouldn't even continue reading a book.

Anyway, being this is my 1st foray into classic literature I'm already hooked! I love Jane Eyre and can't wait to see how it ends! I've been reading it slow though. Its taking me months to get this far in it. Now normally I could read books fast. I've even been known to read books - like 400pg books - in a day. Of course my eyes would kill me, but I wouldn't care cause book is so good. I take Excedrin for headaches and I have no Excedrin's now. But that's not why it took me so long to get this far in the book. Katie and I have been reading like 3 chapters at a time and writing our review and thoughts of the chapters we just read. And since we live States away from each other we write each other and do this through the regular mail. Yeah snail mail is not like instant email, but both of us love writing. So that's why we do it that way. And I wait til I get her letter to read the next chapters so its fresh in my mind. I'm like 70% through the book. Its gonna end soon and that's sad but I know I'm better for reading it! Its really great!

I've been into goodreads.com again! I joined back in 2008 but I haven't been to the site in 4 yrs! Not having a computer or access to one was the reason. I had my PSP but I didn't even think of going to that site. I know I forgot about it. Now that I have my tablet its easier for me to web surf! And things show up better on this then my PSP. Anyway now that I'm reading again much more I decided to go back in goodreads. I had to update my info bigtime! I put in my reading progress on Jane Eyre and was looking around more. Joined a few groups, created a silent film era book group, and saw that Katie joined a book challenge goodreads does each year. I totally forgot about those yearly reading challenges! You basically put in how many books you want to read this year, and as you have read books it shows your progress! I 1st put 60 books just like Katie has hers. But as I was thinking about it, I'm getting into classic literature now and I'm in a really big reading kick now, so I thought to up it to 100. I saw that some ppl put that # up as their challenges before I put mine in. I thought they were nuts lol. I see it now as an attainable goal. Short story books do count as well :-) so far I read 7 books and I'm like 12 books behind, but I can read a few short story books a day to get up to date. I been finding short horror stories on Amazon. I downloaded their kindle app and i check out their free books daily. They have daily book deals and they have a lot of free ebooks in lots of genres and lengths. Not just short story novels are free! And that's great! One called Blood Dahlia is a good regular length novel. Its fiction/thriller. The black Dahlia murder of the 40s is the inspiration. Its a new mystery of someone doing copycat murders like the one back then. It sounds interesting! Once I get up to date on my goodreads reading challenge goal by reading fun short stories, I will read more regular novels. I'm having a great time reading too! My eyes felt kinda bad from reading on my tablet, not terrible where I needed Excedrin. Tylenol did the trick. I don't like that my eyes sometime hinder me from reading more like I want. I do have brightness all the way down. My glasses aren't for reading just distance, driving, and TV. I can see up close. I don't need reading glasses. I just get eyestrain if I read TOO much! And I have tried using my glasses to read and it just makes my eyes hurt faster lol.

Anyway, my hot sausages are almost done so I'm gonna end here. Laterz :-)


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.