NJM 16 in NoJoMo 2019

  • Nov. 16, 2019, 3:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

What is the most hilarious event in your life?

Well, I can’t say it was hilarious, but we really can’t help but laugh about it.

Pam used to work 911 dispatch and I was night shift at the hospital (the first time I worked there, so it was quite a while ago), so she would text me or call whenever she sent a bus (ambulance) our way.

One night there was a wreck nearby. She had worked dispatch for it, and obviously I was working that shift at the hospital.

The next day (or a few days later. I don’t remember), we went for a drive in the Blazer (our first one) to figure out where the hell this wreck happened.

Around here, you have a ton of gravel roads that cross creeks and whatnot. There’s a slab of concrete to drive across.

We reached the creek, and it looked like the water was high. Pam said “Go through, or turn around?” I said “I guess go through.”

We were out in the middle of fucking nowhere. Seriously.

So Pam goes forward and BOOM! we’re nose down in the creek, water quickly filling the cab. Somehow we scrambled out the back (hmm doors, or hatch? Ugh I hate my brain), and got up on dry land.

The dirt had washed away, leaving a good six foot drop straight down, and we didn’t see it.

Somehow we had a cell signal to call for a wrecker. (omfg I don’t remember if Pam called dispatch or if she had the number for the wrecker) (does it matter? Nope.) We were stuck in the woods for what seemed like forever. Probably an hour, or a little bit more. It was getting dark pretty fast, and we were kind of laughing about what happened, and kind of laughing about being attacked by a bear or something.

Needless to say, the Blazer was totaled.

I really liked that Blazer, too. lol

We still joke about it. In fact We went to meet a potential pet sitting job. We had to cross Bear Creek and Pam said “Well that went better than the last time!” lol

We don’t go on many adventures anymore lol Probably a good thing.


Shattered November 17, 2019 (edited November 17, 2019)

Edited

There was water over the foot of a bridge that crossed a river and young and dumb me decided to proceed anyway, rationalizing that I could still see the lines on the road and it wasn’t that deep. Well, there was a current and I could feel it pushing my car all around. Luckily I made it across ok, but I took an alternate way home.

Gilraent Shattered ⋅ November 17, 2019

Yeah. You reeeely have to be careful. I have a few clients that live by creeks that I have to drive through. Thankfully, everyone keeps an eye on the forecast, and lets me know if I can make it through or not.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.