NJM 6 in NoJoMo 2019

  • Nov. 6, 2019, 8:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Non-prompt

Before I start the entry for real, It’s that time of year for me to ask does anyone want a zmas card from me? if you do, leave your name and addy in a pm :)

After Pam had bought the tickets for the Melissa Etheridge concert, she saw that she was doing a private bus tour of her home town. Pam mentioned it to me, and said how awesome it would be do to it, but it was too expensive. I told her it was a once in a lifetime kind of thing, and she should go ahead and get a ticket. I said “If John Taylor did something like that? I would totally max out a credit card to go!”

So she did it :)

I was totally under the impression that I was going to hang out at the BnB while she went on the tour. I had no clue I was going, too.

The bus picked us up in Lawrence, KS Monday morn, around 10ish. The first two rows of the bus were for M.E. and her wife, her PR person, and her… I don’t know what to call them lol one girl was kind of a gopher, and the other one would kind of keep everyone corralled and tell us what to do lol

After the bus picked us, and 4 others up in Lawrence we headed out to Leavenworth, M.E.’s home town. The majority of the “Etheridge nation” was there at the music store waiting. We got off the bus (left our stuff on the seats. I would have killed anyone that tried to take them) and joined the crowd. The … I guess she was our “handler”. that’s all I can think of. She said when ME got out of the car we were to sing part of the song The Medicine Show. It goes
“Let’s all go to the medicine show
Hi-ho, hi-ho, E-I-E-I-O
Let’s all go to the medicine show
Hi-ho, hi-ho, E-I-E-I-O”

lol Seriously it was fun to be part of it. I never heard the song before so I was lost, but whatever. After the music store, we all gathered on the bus and ME started telling us stories about growing up in Leavenworth. We went to all her childhood haunts while she told stories about her life. When we got to the house she grew up in, a woman across the street came out to see what the hell was going on. I mean, there was a huge tour bus on this tiny side street lol What did ME do? She got out and gave the woman a hug and talked with her.

Lunch was included on the tour. There’s this tiny little BBQ place called All Slabbed Up. Food was sooo good! While we were sitting there eating. ME’s wife, Linda was walking by, stopped, did a little curtsy move and asked us (kiddingly) if she could get us anything. But lol I bet she would have gotten it if we asked.

I am just blown away by how normal they are! Seriously! If I didn’t know she was famous, I wouldn’t think she was famous, y’know? They’re just totally down to earth. No bragging or putting on airs or crap like that. Normal people!

When we stopped at the park where her dad was a baseball coach, she was signing things, so Pam went up and had one of her CD’s signed.

The bizarro moment, though. There’s this carousel museum there. When they were restoring this beautiful carousel, they needed funds for the .. organ.. hold on.. Ok, band organ, so they asked ME if she would donate some money. So she footed the bill for it. Because of that, we stopped at the museum. The guy who runs the place started up the carousel, and we all jumped on. Or, well, I jumped on. Pam didn’t think she could handle the spinning.

lol I haven’t been on one since I was probably 6 or something, and there I was spinning round, going up and down on a horse, with Melissa Etheridge and her wife just a few horses (and rabbits) ahead of me.

Probably the most surreal moment in my life....

So far.


WildflowerHeart November 06, 2019

That is so fucking awesome!

Nocturnal State November 07, 2019

That's the COOLEST freaking experience in the entire world!! :D I'm SO beyond thrilled that you guys got to do something like that. It really is a once in a lifetime kinda thing that you'll remember FOREVER. You can't get any more amazing than that. :D

Kristi1971 November 07, 2019

Personal Assistant and Event Organizer. Sounds good to me, anyway. :) Reading on...

Gilraent Kristi1971 ⋅ November 07, 2019

Hey! Thank you! omg I could not brain at all as to what their titles were!

Kristi1971 Gilraent ⋅ November 07, 2019

I'm just guessing, but that's what they sound like anyway lol

Gilraent Kristi1971 ⋅ November 07, 2019

lol having worked in the medical field most of my life, I've obviously never had a personal assistant. Hmm I guess you could have classified me as one a few times in my life lol

And I've never really met someone famous (bumped into a few of them, though). Also the fact that I don't keep up with celebrities (except Duran Duran, of course) so if there's some rag out there like the National Enquirer by the checkout, I wouldn't pick it up and read about so-and-so's personal assistant spilling the beans. So the file clerk in my brain couldn't find any files marked for such people.

lol I should write about the file clerk thing one of these days.

Kristi1971 November 07, 2019

How fun!!!

Foofah November 08, 2019

Truly sounds like a once in a lifetime opportunity. I am so glad you encouraged her to buy it!

Gilraent Foofah ⋅ November 08, 2019

I am too! lol every time one of my clients asks how our vacation was, I get so excited to talk about it. pffft and I'm not the super fan lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.