NJM 5 in NoJoMo 2019

  • Nov. 5, 2019, 6:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is going to be a two-fer. No, wait, I’m going to hold off on the next Melissa Etheridge entry. So…

The prompt: What is one event that changed a strongly-held previous opinion you had?

I have been a Duranie since I was 9 years old. From 9 to 14 years, it was hard core Duran fever for me. lol Just as bad as I am now.

It was either my 13th or 14th birthday party. I got super pissed off at one of my friends and walked out of my own party. A few of my friends followed me, and we ended up walking around the block.

Mind you, it’s the middle of January in Massachusetts, so it was feckin’ cold, and a shit ton of snow on the ground (it was a clear night, though).

When we got to the corner of West ave and Lafayette st, there were a couple of older kids standing in the doorway of the drugstore (which was closed) trying to stay out of the wind. They had a “boom box” playing heavy metal. We glanced at them, and just kept walking.

They followed. They followed us all the way back to my house. My friends were a bit uncomfortable, but I’m a bit crazy so if they got weird I would have just destroyed the radio and their balls. I didn’t get that threatening feeling from them, y’know?

When we got to my driveway, I finally asked them what the fuck their problem was. They just wanted to talk to us blah blah blah. Well, it turned out they were super nice guys.

I asked them who they had playing on the radio. I had been listening to the lyrics and was intrigued. Metallica, Master of Puppets album. One of them, Danny (who became my brother from another mother) took the cassette out of the radio and handed it to me. Told me to really listen to it. Read the lyrics.

Like I said, I was a die-hard Duranie. Very “new wave”, “goth”, “punk”. Duran, Depeche Mode, Kate Bush, The Smiths, yadda yadda. Even though I found the lyrics to the Metallica songs making so much sense to me emotionally, I didn’t think I would actually like the music.

I loved it. Absolutely loved it. I got into all the heavy metal bands, and some hair bands, too. And classic rock. Lots of Zepplin. I still listened to DD, but they were slowly fading out of my life. Big Thing was the last album I bought, I think.

I know that this isn’t an “important” opinion type of answer, it’s even a bit silly, really. But it was a pretty big impact on me at that time of my life. Listening to just one band that I never listened to before changed many things about me. My outlook on life, my attitude, my image.

I changed a lot. Not all good, not all bad. Just… changed.


Leanne 🌈 November 05, 2019

I never met a asshat headbanger these were my peeps lol pot smoking bitches banging their heads always cool. 😉

Gilraent Leanne 🌈 ⋅ November 06, 2019

lol right? Never a bad one in the group :)

WildflowerHeart November 05, 2019

I was like that with NKOTB and now I enjoy so much other stuff that was popular then.

Gilraent WildflowerHeart ⋅ November 06, 2019

My music taste is very eclectic now. But I'm still a duranie through and through.

WildflowerHeart Gilraent ⋅ November 06, 2019

I'm definitely not a blockhead anymore... most of that they do now gives me a headache. LOL

Gilraent WildflowerHeart ⋅ November 06, 2019

lol I'm really surprised I got back into DD so much. I think because they've changed with the times. They never sound the same on the next album, y'know? :)

Foofah November 06, 2019

Metallica has some pretty deep and meaningful lyrics. Nothing Else Matters was the first song that attracted me to them.

Gilraent Foofah ⋅ November 06, 2019

Sanitarium was the one that hit me. Also Master of Puppets. Even though I was young, I was already an addict. Not that the song stopped me from using/drinking, but it obviously made sense to me.

Bomb Shell November 07, 2019

It is important, music can be a huge thing for people! I love metal too, especially the classics. Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath etc.

Gilraent Bomb Shell ⋅ November 07, 2019

Summer of 1986. I had this group of friends that would hang out in my living room every day. lol I had a boombox, and "one of the Jaime's", (there were two boys, and one girl with the same name lol) Jaime Ferguson, would take control of it. 99.9% of the time it was Zeppelin. John Bonham was his hero. He could pull off a pretty good Robert Plant, too!

That was a pretty awesome summer, actually :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.