Self-Absorbed in And So It Goes

  • Oct. 9, 2019, 8:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been totally self-absorbed for the last few weeks. I had decided to just do whatever it was I felt I wanted to do at the time. I read…Beartown by Fredrik Backman, Us Against You, Fredrik Backman (sequel to Bear town), Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng, Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman and Less by Andrew Sean Green. Every one of them was excellent.
Five years ago, the last week in September, I founded the first ever neighborhood book club. We call ourselves, the Book Babes. We celebrate yearly with a Poetry Slam, White Elephant gift exchange, potluck dinner and birthday cake. The same nine members have been together since the beginning. We started out not knowing each other and have become a close knit tribe of readers and friends. It’s been wonderful.
alt text

I cooked some (with my husband as most unenthusiastic Sous Chef to do the slicing and dicing), I binge watched on Netflix, OnDemand and Prime Video until my eyes were ready to bleed and here I am again. I am ready to once again enter the real world. C’est Moi.

Now, tell me how you’ve been…


noko October 09, 2019

That is so great about your good looking book club. I am recovering from having read The Overstory and the ongoing attempt to identify local trees as well as getting ready for my retirement, which may or may not be imminent depending on who might be reading what I write here from work.

IpsoFacto noko ⋅ October 09, 2019

I just started Overstreet!

Jinn October 09, 2019

I have not been reading much . I am currently reading “ Arat “ , which is scary so I don’t read it at night :-)
Its about to frost here so it’s plant moving time :-)
How is your daughter ?
I am glad you are ready to take on the world again!

Marg October 10, 2019

That was a good idea to start that book club - a great way to get to know your neighbours!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.