Baker Act in My Thoughts

  • Oct. 1, 2019, 12:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

How the hell do you make it through life if you can’t talk about your problems without getting Baker Acted? They want you to talk about your feelings and what is going on and then they jump the gun and lock you away in a place where no healing could ever take place.

Sitting here on the other end of a phone waiting to hear if my daughter is going to be Baker Acted is hell. I know she has problems but nowhere in my heart do I believe that putting her in that place is going to help her. Locking her away with no positive contact with the outside world is cruel and damaging.

What does she say to them at school that brings this on? How can this happen during a regular school day? She stops by the nurse’s office to get her medication and the next thing I know I am getting a text that they are calling the resource officer to talk about sending her to the hospital. We just went to see the psychologist last night and she has group therapy this afternoon. How does a school nurse and cop know better than trained professionals in the field?

About one more call or incident and they are going to need to lock me away. I have searched for some support that is covered by my insurance with little success. I may turn to online counseling but I have doubt as to the value it will hold. How do you help someone that you love when they will not even talk to you about what is going on?


DimMeOut October 01, 2019

I am so sorry you're going through this. I went through some very dark times with my own daughter a few years ago, and I know how it feels to want to help but have no clue how. HUGS I am praying for you and for her.

lost soul DimMeOut ⋅ October 01, 2019

Thanks, it helps to know others are or have gone through the same thing. How long did it last if I might ask?

DimMeOut lost soul ⋅ October 01, 2019

For her, it was about a year and a half of struggling. She really resisted counseling at first, but eventually we found a counselor she really connected with and she admitted that counseling helped her a lot. She was self-harming, and attempted suicide twice. We actually had to have her committed to an in-patient facility at one point...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.