Almost two months? in A small but passable life.

  • April 15, 2019, 4:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

March 18

November 8, 2018 was an 80 degree day. There wasn’t another 80 degree day until March 6, 2019. Three months and twenty-eight days between. There hasn’t been one since March 6. There is forecast for a string of them starting Monday.

My oldest niece and her two kids and a friend came out to visit for a few days. We did a couple of the tourist attractions and found the usual Winter mobs.

I was finally able to get rid of the storage cabinet Mom had in my half of the shed. I now have the full 42 square feet of floor space. I wheeled in the large tool box from the carport and put it in that corner. A while back I helped Betty move from one unit to another here in the park and she had given me a Bose Wave radio. I put that on top of the tool box.

Since the last entry I’ve read three books:
“The Culture of Make Believe” by Derrick Jensen
“The End of Ice” by Dahr Jamail
“New York 2140” by Kim Stanley Robinson
That’s four books so far this year. Pretty slow indeed.

Winter is officially over. It was the second coldest on record here with an average temperature of 56 degrees. The coldest ever was 1997/98 at 55 degrees. There was 3 months 28 days between 80 degree days and 160 days between 90 degree days. And there has already been two 97 degree days.

Daughter has got the old van back on the road again. This time she did the repairs herself using parts from the salvage yard. Only took her 10 1/2 months.

So yeah, nothing much new here.


woman in the moon April 15, 2019

That van has had a life. The Bluick is ready for the recycler. I feel a little bad.... it was a good car too.
Does the Bose sound good? I used to want one.
Interesting that your temp was lower, seems ours is too. Still a cold spring.

Neogy Titwhistle woman in the moon ⋅ April 16, 2019

The Bose sounds great! And no I wouldn't pay $300 for one. Which is why I never bought one.

Deleted user April 15, 2019

My Dad has a Bose wave and it’s never worked right . I tried to get him to send it back but he said he could not be bothered :-) SMH .
It has been a cool winter in AZ . I hope it’s not going to be a trend . Especially if we move there :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.