OD entry 2/2/10 in Open diary entries

  • Jan. 29, 2019, 2:28 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

02/02/2010
Is it really so hard for someone to say “Please”?

sigh

I guess maybe I’m just of a different generation. When I ask for something, I still always say “please”.

Today, I got a bit tired of docs little attitude… ok I admit. I’m sick of people in general (I really want a cigarette). She wanted one of the cordless phones.

“oh you have the phone. Can I have it?”

“Sure.”

“Well?”

“Well, What?”

“Give me the phone.”

“Whats the magic word?”

“Give me the phone, now.”

“only if you say ‘Please’”

She then walked to the other desk and got the other cordless phone.

Twit.

I’m probably going to get in trouble for having a bad attitude for it. But seriously.

Is it that hard?

Now, can I have some coffee? PLEASE?


nothispenelope January 29, 2019

really? i mean i'm not impolite. but like at starbucks i'll just state, i want my receipt vs. asking for it. and i always thank them. also to me 'can' is a physical thing.

Gilraent nothispenelope ⋅ January 29, 2019

I think it's because my parents hammered basic manners into me. Please and thank you had to be said, I couldn't say "can I have" I had to say "may I" My parents were far from drill sergeants, they just wanted me to respect everyone who crossed my path.

That particular person I worked for thought the world revolved around her, and we should have bowed and kissed her ring. If I remember correctly I was extremely done with being disrespected in front of other people. I have a tad bit of an attitude. :/

Nocturnal State January 29, 2019

Ugh... I absolutely despise the attitude some people have where they can't be bothered with even the most basic manners. It's almost an entitled attitude. Like they feel they deserve what they want, when they want it, and they don't need to ask for it or thank anyone for giving it to them. That's probably my biggest pet peeve. Why is it SO damn hard to just be polite? What's wrong with a simple 'please' and 'thank you'?

I used to work with one doctor in particular who had SUCH a high and mighty attitude. She was young, just out of vet school, and thought she was really something special. Everyone around the office referred to her as a brat behind her back. But if you held a door for six doctors, they'd all thank you. She'd walk through with her nose literally up in the air and kind of give you this weird side eye like, "Who are you to even be breathing as I walk in?" Ugh.. I couldn't stand this woman for numerous reasons, but that was pretty high up on the list.

Gilraent Nocturnal State ⋅ January 29, 2019

oh that sounds so damn familiar!

Nocturnal State Gilraent ⋅ January 29, 2019

It's so beyond frustrating!! It's one of the few things in the world that makes me feel stabby. lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.