NJM 24 in NoJoMo 2018

  • Nov. 24, 2018, 1:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

8:30 am

We have some typical Missouri weather today and tomorrow. Sunny with a high of 60 today, snow and a low of 24 tomorrow. This is why I never know what to wear. Well, I always wear scrubs, but, like, jacket, or no jacket? Light jacket, or winter jacket with gloves and a scarf?

I know that changing my work schedule shouldn’t throw me off like it does, but to be ready for work on a Saturday is strange.

I asked on fb if anyone was doing DePhoMo this year, and of course no one knew what I was talking about except one friend from OD. So I posted the prompts (well, the whole entry) from the DePhoMo diary to explain, and quite a few of my friends are going to participate in it :) I told them to tag me in their photos, so I can see what they shot on camera. I need to study the prompts so I can find stuff beforehand. I did that last year and then picked the best shot out of the dozens that I took for that particular prompt. I think this year I’m going to take the shot with both my DLSR and phone so I can post to instagram along with everywhere else. Why not, right?

I didn’t do any Zmas cards yesterday. the P’s in my address book are daunting, and I like to get one letter out of the way each time I sit down. Lemme count how many I have under P. Oh. hm only 12. I thought it was more. That’s not bad. hm.

1:13 pm

I went to the Alpenhorn for a couple of hours today. Only had to turn over two rooms, but one of them, the Land Haus, had three dogs in it. It was a surprise to A when they checked in. He has no problem with pets, but doesn’t like to be surprised by it. Mainly because it does take extra time to clean. omg the amount of dog hair lol You could tell they were nervous and started shedding like crazy.

I told A that if there is a dog hair left behind, I’m sorry. I changed everything in that room… um well, not the curtains. ooh hm That’s something we should do when there is a slow week.

I’ll be working my usual 4 hours there tomorrow. And I better send a text to The Bull and Lion and Little Peace of Heaven to make sure they didn’t get any last minute bookings.

I’m going to shut up now, because the copy/paste from the prompt is long. I could have taken out the quotes from novels, but I find them interesting.

Prompt: What is your personality type? (ENTJ, INTJ, etc.). Do you believe it fits you?

INFP
Introvert(28%) iNtuitive(34%) Feeling(56%) Perceiving(19%)
You have moderate preference of Introversion over Extraversion (28%)
You have moderate preference of Intuition over Sensing (34%)
You have moderate preference of Feeling over Thinking (56%)
You have slight preference of Perceiving over Judging (19%)

INFPs never seem to lose their sense of wonder. One might say they see life through rose-colored glasses. It’s as though they live at the edge of a looking-glass world where mundane objects come to life, where flora and fauna take on near-human qualities.

INFP children often exhibit this in a ‘Calvin and Hobbes’ fashion, switching from reality to fantasy and back again. With few exceptions, it is the NF child who readily develops imaginary playmates (as with Anne of Green Gables’s “bookcase girlfriend”–her own reflection) and whose stuffed animals come to life like the Velveteen Rabbit and the Skin Horse:

”…Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But these things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand…” (the Skin Horse)
INFPs have the ability to see good in almost anyone or anything. Even for the most unlovable the INFP is wont to have pity.

Rest you, my enemy,
Slain without fault,
Life smacks but tastelessly
Lacking your salt!
Stuck in a bog whence naught
May catapult me,
Come from the grave, long-sought,
Come and insult me!
–(Steven Vincent Benet, Elegy for an Enemy)

Their extreme depth of feeling is often hidden, even from themselves, until circumstances evoke an impassioned response:

“I say, Queequeg! Why don’t you speak? It’s I–Ishmael.” But all remained still as before. … Something must have happened. Apoplexy!

… And running up after me, she caught me as I was again trying to force open the door. … “Have to burst it open,” said I, and was running down the entry a little, for a good start, when the landlady caught me, again vowing I should not break down her premises; but I tore from her, and with a sudden bodily rush dashed myself full against the mark.–(Melville, Moby Dick)

Personality Types: INFP

INFP stands for Introvert, iNtuitive, Feeling, Perceiving

Of course, not all of life is rosy, and INFPs are not exempt from the same disappointments and frustrations common to humanity. As INTPs tend to have a sense of failed competence, INFPs struggle with the issue of their own ethical perfection, e.g., performance of duty for the greater cause. An INFP friend describes the inner conflict as not good versus bad, but on a grand scale, Good vs. Evil. Luke Skywalker in Star Wars depicts this conflict in his struggle between the two sides of “The Force.” Although the dark side must be reckoned with, the INFP believes that good ultimately triumphs.

Some INFPs have a gift for taking technical information and putting it into layman’s terms. Brendan Kehoe’s Zen and the Art of the Internet is one example of this “de-jargoning” talent in action.

I think I take this test every year. I usually end up as an INFP, but, I think it depends on whether I’m stable, depressed, or manic at the time. Which only makes sense.

But yes, I think this pretty much nails me. At least today :)


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.