NJM 14 in NoJoMo 2018

  • Nov. 14, 2018, 7:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

6:32 pm
Worked the gross house today. I washed three loads of laundry, and folded 4 full laundry baskets of clothes that were sitting there, then the clothes that I washed. I did charge for it. I mean, I have the time to do it all while cleaning, but, the contract she signed said there is a $10 charge for each load of laundry. Doesn’t specify if it’s wash, dry, and fold, so on top of the charges for the loads that I washed, I charged for folding all the damn clothes. They can afford it, and if they can’t maybe they’d get up off their asses and do some housework themselves.

Like, the socks. A few months ago I offered to take a small laundry basket of socks home to try to match up. I forget what I quoted on price. It wasn’t a lot, the basket was small. J’s answer was “oh we can match socks while we’re watching TV”

They got through half the small basket. That’s all. So I had another full basket of unmatched socks last week. I got one of the big laundry hampers (the kind that is… 3-4 feet tall?) and filled the thing up until it overflowed with socks. Hasn’t been touched. I took a picture and sent it to Pam asking how much I should charge to take the damn basket home with me and match the stupid socks. It’s a lot of socks. I asked Pam if she thought 50 was enough, but she didn’t give me an answer. It would take quite a while to go through all the socks. I don’t think 50 is enough… hmm.

At any rate, once I figure how much I should charge, I’m going to beg them to let me take them home with me. It annoys the fuck out of me that they are there. I feel like I’m not doing my job. Same with the two laundry mountains downstairs. I try to catch up, then the kids (and adults) throw another hamper full on the pile.

I don’t understand people. Do your fucking laundry. ::sigh:: But, they have money, so they are incapable of picking up after themselves. It’s just gross.

In other news, a facebook friend spoke his mind in the “You know you’re from Salem if…” group about it just being filled with political arguments. A lot of people have left the group because of it. It’s not fun anymore.

Well, he had a dog, Laila, that had her own fb profile. He would post a daily picture of her in the group with “good mornin’ Salem” on it. She was quite famous in Salem for it all. I even requested to meet her (and her humans) when Pam and I went to Salem to visit, and they complied :) She was a sweetie. Big goofball of a boxer.

She passed away this year, and even though they got a new puppy (and have other dogs who ended up with them from fostering), he just couldn’t bear the thought of posting a daily picture.

So, I’m going to do the daily picture with Ty and Skit-man, and post it in the group. I took a few pictures and videos today of Mia and Bella and tagged him in the pictures. He really appreciated seeing some doggos. He’s actually a dog trainer, rescuer, fund raiser, and all around great guy. I’m hoping that the daily picture will quiet the stupid politic bullshit in the group. At least R will be happy to see them.

Ok. The prompt…

Today’s Prompt: You are a tour guide and have a day and a half to help people create lifetime memories. Where would you be, what would you show them, and what do you hope they will remember?

It would have to be my old stomping grounds, Salem MA. I would bring them to the good places, the real places, like the House of Seven Gables. Yes, the one that inspired Nathaniel Hawthorne. We’d go to the Witch House. This house is the only house still standing with direct ties to the Salem witch trials. It belonged to judge Jonathan Corwin, one of the judges that was involved in the trials.

I would take them to the Salem Willows, named for the willow trees (der . of course) that were planted to offer shade to patients from a hospital.. um either TB or small pox. I don’t remember. It is (or was) a great place. I would take them to get popcorn from E.W. Hobb’s. It’s the best popcorn in the world. No, I’m serious. The fucking best. It’s been around since 1890something. And they would also have to get a pepper steak sandwich from the place next door (I have no clue what the name is). And no Styrofoam containers. They would have to eat it wrapped in wax paper with a fork stuck in it. The only way to have it. No wimpy containers. Sheesh.

Then on to the Pickering house, the oldest house in Salem, and to the Broad Street Cemetery. Corwin is buried there. But it’s not the oldest cemetery in Salem. We’d have to go to The Burying Point. Judge John Hathorne, another from the witch trials (and a relation to Nathaniel Hawthorne. Yes, he changed his name slightly) is buried there. and It’s just a really cool place.

Right next to the Burying Point is the Salem Witch Trials Memorial. A lot of people didn’t like it, but it really gets to me. It’s in a shape of a square, and on the pavers are quotes from the trials. There is a stone wall surrounding it. every couple of feet a piece of granite sticks out. they have the name of the accused and the date they were hanged (except Giles Correy. He was pressed to death).

The last stop would have to be Crow Haven Corner. It was opened in 1971 by Laurie Cabot, the “official witch of Salem”. She no longer owns it… my gawd I don’t even know how old Laurie is now! But in there, you can get any kind of reading you want done, browse the books, potions and spells, and just take in the wonderful feeling you get when you walk in there. It’s just… well, magical :)

I know this is a pretty boring tour. But I guess if you’re a geek like me, you’d like the historical stuff.

See ya.


Teflon Superhero November 14, 2018

There's a laundromat where I used to live that also had a clean/fold service. They did it by weight. Can't remember a damn thing about how much per lb, but the few times I used it, I had one of those bigger canvas laundry bags stuffed full and took in and it was around 50-60 dollars to wash, dry, fold. I tried looking it up just now and it just brings up that they're a laundromat and they don't put the prices so...poo...I have no idea.

Gilraent Teflon Superhero ⋅ November 14, 2018

poo is right. Well, I'll just have to think on it. I'm going to match those fucking socks come hell or high water. I just want to sit the whole family down and "have a little talk" with them.

WildflowerHeart November 16, 2018

I’d love that tour!! Sounds exciting and like you said a lot of history

Leanne 🌈 November 16, 2018

I feel 50.00 is low for sure your taking the damn socks to your house for fucks sakes.

Ya know how I dig witches ✌.

ghostwalker November 21, 2018

I want the Salem tour, too. ^_^

Gilraent ghostwalker ⋅ November 22, 2018

Would love to have you along! How much fun would we have? :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.