Captain Trips? in A small but passable life.

  • Oct. 9, 2018, 4:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Daughter slept most of the day Saturday. In the evening we went out for a walk on the city’s Greenway Trail. An hour or so into the walk Daughter started feeling puny. We turned around and headed back to the apartment. See went back to bed. And then she ended up getting sick. Same as I had Thursday night. Sunday Daughter slept all day and I laid on my sleeping pad in the living room and read the non-fiction I’d brought.

By Sunday evening she was feeling better and we went to hike another city trail. We both were feeling good and ended up walking four miles.

Back at the apartment we played a game of Scrabble. She beat me, but not by much.

Monday morning we went to Bass Pro where she spent a gift card, working on her “backpacking gear list”.

After stopping for lunch we headed north to the motel/RV park to visit with Mom, Brother, and Sis-in-law for a few hours. And we found out both Mom and Brother had been sick while I was gone. But not Sis-in-law.

And then back to the city so Daughter could get ready for work. After much hug and “laters” I headed back north. It was the first I’d driven the car since driving to the city on Thursday. I’d turned the driving over to Daughter when I arrived and I’d let her take the car to work and back Thursday and Friday nights.

After dinner last night in the motorhome with Brother and Sis-in-law last night Mom and I retreated to the motel room where Mom turned on the TV before even changing into her PJ’s. Damn. Five days of TV-less-ness. Ended.

Looking at the radar this morning put the kibosh on leaving to head east this morning. We’ll leave tomorrow morning.

Daughter had went to the CDC website to figure out the rampant sick contagion. We soon had a workable theory. Mom had gotten the flu shot the day before we’d left. Apparently the flu shot weakens the immune system for up to two weeks. Mom had spent 48 hours with her nearly 3 year old great-grandson. And we all know toddlers are notorious walking germ carriers. Mom had probably incubated it for awhile and then infected everyone. Case solved.

(Side note: The CDC also mentioned that the flu shot is basically worthless for folks over the age of 65.)

So today. Brother came by the room this morning, banging on the door at 7am, thinking we were leaving this morning. He mentioned the weather. I checked the radar. And agreed with him that the mess was coming and we’d not make it to OKC without driving through it.

I just booked the same La Quinta in OKC that we’d stayed in last week for tomorrow night. I used 8000 of our accumulated 8,669 rewards points. The room will cost us $17 and change.

So, we’re all set to turn back west towards the desert. Just when, after tonight’s front moves through, to turn these past 80 degree days into 50-something degree days.

Three or four more nights and I’ll be sitting in my chair once again.


Last updated October 29, 2018


Deleted user October 09, 2018

Good thing you decided to wait out the weather for a day !

Neogy Titwhistle Deleted user ⋅ October 09, 2018

Yeah, I don't like driving at night or in anything but sunny weather.

Deleted user Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ October 09, 2018

The weather here has been very iffy the last three days and I was glad we did not have to drive anywhere much . I hate poor driving conditions too . I did that too much in the past :-(

woman in the moon October 09, 2018

I wonder about flu and flu shots. I wish I knew the science behind them - though I read a Smithsonian article last year that explained how they make the vaccines - how they choose which varieties of flu and attach them to the active ingredient.
I almost never get one. But then I feel guilty if I get any kind of sick.
How about shingles vaccine? Did your mom get the new ones - Shinglix? I'd get that one but Walmart (my pharmacist) told me it was rare and put me on a waiting list till after first of year.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.