Barefoot in hell. in A small but passable life.

  • Sept. 2, 2018, 10:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can’t really remember the last time I’ve scribbled an entry. But I have kept up with remembering the books I’ve read since the last time I’ve scribbled in here.

Book #16 for the year was “The Rooster Bar” by John Grisham.

Book #17 was “Counter-History of the Present” by Gabriel Rockhill.

Book #18 was “The Outsider” by Stephen King.

I’m currently reading the one novel I found on the shelf at the library when I went there to put six books on my hold list. Two of them had to be put on the purchase list as they were brand new and not yet in the system. Nice.

Mom wanted to take me out for my birthday and insisted I pick the place. So, I picked. We drove eleven miles down the freeway to the closest Red Lobster. I was thinking lobster, as I’ve never tried it, ever. So, we pull up and I park in a handicap space and go to get out of the car. Hmm, apparently I’d got in without my flip-flops. I sent Mom in to get us a seat and I drove across the parking lot to Walmart. I had to park a ways from the door. (Yes, I would have used the handicap tag to park closer but there were no spots.) Halfway to the door, feet burning (it was only 110 degrees out), I had to commit. Keep going. Damn, that ice cold floor inside felt great. I found a pair of $5 flip-flops, bought them and drove back across the parking lot.

The meal was tasteless. Everything but the baked tater. Nothing like the meal we had in Morro Bay, CA. or Newport, OR. Lesson learned.

The fun I was trying to have to go three months with buying gasoline was ended on the 29th. The little yellow gas pump symbol lit up coming home from the grocery store. I stopped and filled up. Thirteen gallons even. It is a sixteen gallon tank. Good to know.

Most mornings lately have been cool enough to go to the pool after my morning coffee and reading. If it is below 100 degrees I go. There were actually a couple of cloudy mornings.

But yeah, nothing new here. But nothing new is what I like. Apparently.

Chaos be damned!


Last updated September 02, 2018


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.