3. Further Away in The Stuff That's Not Interesting But Is The Most Interesting Stuff I'll Write

  • Aug. 13, 2018, 11:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So there have been two other wrenches thrown into my plan to head back to LA in the timely manner in which I had first charted out. The first of which is my former employer, whom I shall be seeing in court later this week. That’s right, I’m going to court. It wasn’t assured, but once I found out about everything that was happening and all the things that were being said about me, I took legal action. So that has delayed me by about two weeks.

The other thing is a guy. I know, I don’t really let myself get distracted by guys… and that might be why I’ve been alone since Edgar left me (literally, by the way, he moved to Paris, and from what I hear from my French friends, Parisians hate this cloister of Americans that he’s take up with). So, here I am with Fernando… who moved down here from Oregon and is in a horrible position.

But I’m not helping him. Not really. That’s another pattern I’ve noticed about me. I have a tendency to take wounded birds and try to make them better. It never works out. So we’re just kind of existing. He’s very sweet and it’s all nice, and I’ve been totally upfront about the fact that I’m planning to leave for LA very soon.

My family isn’t exactly the friendliest group of people ever, well, they would be to his face but after he left, I’d get the third degree… especially about dating a Green Card holder from Mexico. I find it very amusing that a group of Mexican-Americans are complaining about Mexicans… amusing until I realize how twisted they are.

Fernando is sweet and pretty smart for 23. So he’s much older than I’m used to dating (if this is the first time you’ve read me, apologies but I’ve dated 19-year-olds since I was 15), but he’s got it together, or at least knows what he’s doing to get it together. His ex is holding his Mexican Passport for ransom, (do we once again see why I didn’t think that little prank from a few entries ago was a joke?)

I’m completely comfortable with this taking as long as it can, but in truth, I will be living in Los Angeles by my 35th birthday, which gives me less than 100 days (I follow a Halloween counter on twitter who reminds me daily how much longer I have left). Pressure can be good, but sometimes it just seems like pushing things further away can seem self-sabotaging. But I know what I’m doing, I’ve done this before and I know what it takes to make it happen.

Once I sort out my court case and make sure Fernando and I are on good footing, it’s sayonara Sacramento!


KissOfLife! August 13, 2018

Good luck in the court case. Your life is never simple is it lol.
And I think this is the first I've heard of Fernando. Such a cool name, although I'd be playing him Cher's version of ABBA to tease him if it were me.
He can't go to the Mexican Embassy and say his passport was stolen?
I'm surprised you haven't called out your family on the racism cards.
Yeah it was very interesting being in Paris 3 years ago - they loved me when they heard my Aussie accent and my pathetic attempts at basic French but I was told 'If you were American they wouldn't like you'. You loved Paris though (as did I), and I assume your French is fluent and you probably made them laugh a lot.

~Octopussy~ KissOfLife! ⋅ August 13, 2018

I have so little investment in my family right now. They're a fucking train wreck. It's like I'm the only sane person in a reality show that was cast by Roseanne Barr.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.