Topic 1 – I went with work in My Thoughts

Revised: 07/26/2018 9:09 a.m.

  • July 24, 2018, midnight
  • |
  • Public

I quit my job, it was a good job, of 15 years. I took a deep breath and chose to start down a new path. 50 years old and a father of two school-aged children and I started a new job. Not sure if that says good or bad things about me. Every day so far I have woken up and wondered if I made the biggest mistake of my life. I have doubts that I cannot even begin to explain. Fear of letting down family and friends, fear of finding out I really can’t cut it in a more difficult job just touch the tip of doubt that is plaguing me.

A little background before I get started. I normally have never stayed at a job for more than around 5-7 years. I always did well and moved up the ladder to the point when I would start to panic and then look for a new job. This is not the first time I left a good job to start something new. My job before this last one was an Executive Assistant Manager for Walgreens. That is basically a holding position while you wait for a store to open or a manager to get fired. LOL Twice I was offered my own stores in two different states (one I would not have minded moving to) and I turned them both down saying I did not want to leave the area. The fact of the matter is that I did not think I could handle it. I was scared. I turned down a 6 figure job to go and teach because I was so filled with self-doubt. Mistake? We will never know, that is in the past.

Fifteen years ago my daughter was born and I took a job teaching. Not an easy job by any stretch but I could handle it. For the first time though I took a job where there was no ladder to climb. There was no place to go, no goal to achieve. If I could do it one year I could do it forever. I am a good teacher and I did well. I spent 15 years there and never had to worry. I settled in, worked hard and did a good job, I was successful but I was not where many people told me I should be. Both my wife and my best friend felt I was falling short of my full abilities. I loved teaching, the kids and the material brought me joy but the people, the institution was driving me to the edge. So when the new job came up I took it. Mistake? We will never know, that is also in the past now.

So that brings me to today. In a job where I am can excel and with skill and knowledge progress up a ladder of sorts. I fell like the classic image of a duck. All calm above the water and kicking like hell under the water. So far I like the job. It offers challenges that I did not face in the past and an opportunity to learn and think outside my norm. IT Manager – if only it was that simple. there are dozens of facets to this job and I don’t think, even a month in, that I have begun to see them all. Often I feel lost, especially with dealing with people outside the Sanford office. I have that newcomer syndrome I guess. In my head, I can picture them sitting around the “water cooler” asking each other why the hell I was hired and what the hell was people thinking.


Last updated July 26, 2018


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.