Involuntary Growth in Spontaneous Combustion

  • July 2, 2018, 10:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I looked forward to the nights
Spent in my room
Dancing the night away
To all my favorite tunes

I liked staying up late
Trying to level up
Or watching the infomercials
Selling knives and…stuff

My peers were trendy
But I was not by any means
I was quite content
With my sneaks and jeans

I was jaded early on
About the game of dating
I keep myself busy
And allude that I’m “just waiting”

After years of pretending to drive
Late twenties brought me Weatherly
At last, I can catch up
To my ideals of adulting

But I was far from mature
Being of age wasn’t enough
It took my mom’s passing
To be faced with growing up

Up until that moment
She was my identity
Losing her made me start the journey
Finding out who I’m meant to be

Thirty stands before me
Life has given me a clean slate
I brave the first step forward
Into my glory and greatness

SRO2018


Last updated July 06, 2018


Skikkles911 July 02, 2018

I love this.
(Just a random passing on by)

Savannah Raé Skikkles911 ⋅ July 02, 2018

Cheers!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.