Private comment in Every day scata

  • June 21, 2018, 8:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A fellow PB’er posted this comment on my entry with the quote from Elie Wiesel. They have given me permission to share. <3

“That man and his books, both Night and Day, radically changed my life.

I always knew about the horrors of the Holocaust. But there is something about seeing a CHILD, who loved his God so dearly, so innocently, have that love, that devotion SHATTERED in every possible way. To see that God, once so revered and beloved, KILLED. God died in the crematories of Auschwitz. He was burned into a fine ash, again and again, and how it lingered in the noses and lungs of all those condemned, forced to breathe it in day after day, night after fearful night. God was the hanged body of a little boy one child watching another as his life was slowly robed of him. God stood condemned and the boy that once would have done everything to defend him stood instead his judge and jury and rightfully so.

I look all around me at the horrors that are taking place. Horrors that I know Wiesel would speak out on. Horrors that bring flashbacks to so many Holocaust survivors…! We are on the brink of our long night. We are at a moment, where light and dark are precariously balanced, with few doubts which way we are falling.

NEVER AGAIN. We promised that. We swore it as a nation…!

And yet… Here we are. And it’s all happening again. And those who dare raise their voices, screaming for the others not to go quietly into that darkest of nights…begging them to come to their senses…we are silenced. We are mocked. Shunned. Told that our words are madness…it cannot happen again…while we watch it happen before our horrified eyes.

I keep telling myself to have hope…but I honestly have none left.

May we be forgiven for what comes next…“


Sister June 22, 2018

Wow...

Leanne 🌈 June 22, 2018

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.