I Don't Know How in Day to Day

  • June 21, 2018, 11:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

How to stop worrying. Things are going down and I can’t change anything right now. I have plans, but for the most part, things remain static for me, now, and here. This region hasn’t changed at all, except that the inane vitriol is louder and more voices are feeling “safe” enough to say the evil, genocidal things they’ve been thinking all along.

This has been a way of me to engage the world since I was at least 9. I remember writing a detailed research paper about issues I still care about now. 36 years later, here I am, unable to close everything down. The rest of the world is desperately upset. I can’t just go to an outside news source, because it looks EVEN WORSE from that angle.

I keep trying. Then I hear the coworkers or patrons say something that makes me want to vomit and I go back online to see if we’re all doomed. I see that there are others trying to keep us from becoming a shithole where we have no child labor laws, and education is a dream of the past and the rich and people aren’t asking where to sign up to stick the dreaded “Other” into cages, and people aren’t forgetting it’s the corporations who have made this happen, while they point their grubby fingers at those EVEN POORER than themselves. The power lies in those higher in the “food chain” not lower, for fuck’s sake. I can’t help it. I have to try to find others who don’t want to see our ways and values annihilated for a couple fucking stock upswings.

cartoon "yes planet was destroyed, but briefly gave value to our shareholders"

Someday, it’ll all be over. It’ll be sooner rather than later, at this point.

How do I just ignore it?


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.