Snafu. in A small but passable life.

  • June 18, 2018, 10:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I think it was Friday. Thursday? Anyway, an unusual day had occurred. A high temp of 82 degrees, a little bit of rain, and 88% humidity. That was our monsoon.

Yesterday and today it was once again over 100 degrees. 110 degrees is forecast for Friday.

A nice phone call from Daughter last evening wishing me a happy Father’s Day. And today I found her card to me in the mailbox. Really nice!

And then this afternoon another call from her.

There has been a snafu in the paying off the child support. For months now the plan was working fine. I write a check for $300. Daughter draws the $300 out with the card and deposits it in my account. I write the next check for $300. It worked up until a month or so ago when only $240 showed upon the card. I had to mail another $60 to deposit for a total of $300. I sent $300. It didn’t show upon the card. As of last night it still hadn’t shown up. They had cashed the last check on May 1st. Where was the money?

Daughter called them today, posing as her mother, to inquire. Apparently they (the state) are keeping the rest of the balance and not sending it on to her mother (actually Daughter). Why? They wouldn’t tell her.

I really can’t think of why I would owe the state (for a reason other than back child support) nearly $900. I’ve always paid my state income tax. I’ve never received any kind of notice of owing for anything. And why would one state agency collect for another state agency? And why didn’t this show up while I was receiving food stamps for 6 ½ years or before that unemployment for 99 weeks?

I guess I’ll have to call them. I wouldn’t bother except that I’m curious.

Daughter said there is a balance of $17 and change left on the card. I told her to go ahead and zero it out and hang tight until I find out what’s going on.

I already owe Mom $360 for the money we’ve been recycling through the system. I guess I could borrow another $538.83, write a check and be done with it. But I want to know what I’m writing a check for, you know, just because.

Anyway, I’ll just sit here in my chair.

Life is not that complicated.


Deleted user June 18, 2018

Where is your daughter’s Mother ?

Neogy Titwhistle Deleted user ⋅ June 18, 2018

About an hour from Daughter.

Deleted user Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ June 18, 2018

Maybe she complained ?

Neogy Titwhistle Deleted user ⋅ June 19, 2018

No. The plan was hers.

Deleted user Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ June 20, 2018

Sheesh. It’s a messed up system :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.