No entry name in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • June 12, 2018, 1:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well I was wrong on the day the two youngest grands were leaving on the vacation with their mom. It is THIS Thursday, not last Thursday. The closer it gets to Thursday the more wound up they are getting and it is starting to “get” to me. IF I understand correctly, their mom will come by here to pick them up when she finishes work on Thursday. Dude thinks it could be later in the afternoon, I figured she’d be here shortly after noon or even before. Thankfully she is going to call them when she starts down here to get them. Currently Mickey is at a friends house and Dude will pick her up on his way home from work. I wonder if she is going to want to be gone Thursday when her mom picks up the other two. Dude doesn’t think she will care one way or the other, however, I believe she does care. Not that I actually know how she is feeling or what she is thinking, I believe/suspect that she feels as if the boyfriend has been chosen over her....again. How does a kid get used to that no matter their age.

This trip/vacation has been planned even before Dude and Dudette split BUT Dude was suppose to be going. Well he isn’t obviously and I believe Mickey is having a bit of difficulty seeing her mom be able to just switch out her dad for boyfriend without even a hesitation. Thus that sad look I see in Mickey’s eyes on occasion when her younger brother and sister start talking about their trip makes me know she does care. I know Mickey would have liked to have gone to NY. But she isn’t. By her choice cause she just cannot make herself spend any more time in a closed car all the way to NY. I do not blame her, although I really wish she would have gone.

We need rain. Badly we need some moisture from the sky. It almost rained this morning very early, sprinkles teased, but then nothing. I think we have a better chance tomorrow. But nothing for sure.

The TV in my bedroom died a couple of weeks ago and I survived being able to go to sleep without it. But, we went by Goodwill last weekend and I found a 24” for a reasonable price with it’s little stand, so I bought it. Well, the stand that came with it was missing the piece that connects base to TV so yesterday on my way to a meeting, I bought a wall mount at Walmart. I am proud to say that I got it up this morning and even hooked by the VCR/DVD player that I had stashed away. I’d forgotten I even had it, but when I rediscovered it, I decided to use the old TV mount to set the player on and have it hooked into the TV. I haven’t tried out the discovered equipment but will after the DISH tech comes again this afternoon.

I could vent away about the phone conversation that lasted an hour with the DISH rep last week to get this appointment, but I won’t. However, I make it clear, that I will not pay another dime and it better get fixed this time! Period!! The tech that came last time told me I may need new receivers so I expect to receive a new receiver today. It is too bad my external hard drive would be recognized by the DVR player as all the shows that are recorded will be gone. Oh well, maybe at least the stations will all come in again. At least they better!!

Must go as time is getting nearer to the tech’s expected arrival time.

Take care and God Bless


cardslinger June 14, 2018

How old is Mickey? I feel so bad for kids in these situtaions. They always get hurt the most. Praying for her and all of you as you adjust to the new norm.
I hope your dish gets fixed. I wouldn't want to be without my TV. Does that mean I'm an addict? lol

middle age pearl cardslinger ⋅ June 15, 2018

Mickey is 14.

Oswego June 15, 2018

Hope everything works out with the DISH situation and that you get some much-needed rain soon!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.