Life is not that complicated? in A small but passable life.

  • May 23, 2018, 12:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had my little space put back together in an hour or so after we got back Friday. Mom piddled and fussed and fidgeted all day Saturday and Sunday.

I went out first thing Saturday morning and filled the gas tank and went to the grocery store to restock.

Monday I took the car in for servicing. And to check a dash light that had come on while we were somewhere on the west coast. It was an emissions light, and didn’t appear to effect the functioning of the car. So, I drop the car off at 8am and the shop gave me a ride back to the house. The shop called about 5pm and said that it would be about an $1100 fix. It was a sensor malfunctioning in the thermostat. He also said that parts may be unavailable at any price. He said he’d do some research and call back.

Tuesday went by with no call.

He called this morning and said that he’s found the parts and that yes, it would be about $1100. Mom told him to go ahead.

It has to be fixed. An emissions inspection is due before June 15th to get tags for another two years.

So, it’s been two days, so far, of Mom fussing about the car, the lack of a car, the not wanting to buy a new car, the not wanting to buy a used car, the not wanting to make car payments, wondering if she could buy a used car with the money she has in savings, and maybe getting a “loaner” car from the mechanic while the repairs are made, and on and on and on.

I said, “Why don’t we just have the car fixed with the money you’ve put aside for just that purpose and then drive it until it needs fixed again?”

I mean, really, I’ve put 3000 miles on the car the first year I’ve lived here. That’s less than the road trip we just took.

I also mentioned that it is a good thing that lava is not flowing towards the house. Ya know?

And speaking of that, I found a couple of comments I really enjoyed beneath a story about the volcano-

“Just a volcano doing volcano things. Nothing to see here, folks.”

And-

“We can blame it on the fucking Christians. Ever since they banned tossing virgins into volcanoes this was bound to happen!”

I won the Rummikub game last night. It was good being back in the Tuesday game.

I had a good couple of long conversations with Daughter last night. She’s having an existential “What’s it all mean?” moment. She asked me questions. I had no answers. I’ve spent six decades not thinking about what I want to do when I grow up.

As an INTJ I really have no time or patience for thinking about such personal things. I’ve got more important things to think about.

(Like, I need to get up and pour my third and last cup of coffee!)
.
.
.
(There, third and last cup for the day.)

I’m pretty sure it’s going to be a not-so-pleasant wait for the car to be repaired. When I went into the house for that last cup of coffee Mom asked me if I was going to do anything today, while she was sitting there with her word-find book while Judge Mathis blathered on the TV.

FML.

Over and out.


woman in the moon May 23, 2018

You remind me of my son and me. We're not quite where you are yet but we are getting there.

Deleted user May 24, 2018

My son is not home that much ( he works a lot ) but we stick to limited conversations only . He is sooo quiet and obviously does not have much to say to me although 99.9 Times if he does talk, it’s pleasant. I give him his privacy and he gives me mine . We are consistently courteous to each other. I wish he kept his room cleaner but he pays rent so I consider that his private domain.
I really do not see why so many people think it’s weird to have your adult child live with you ( if they don’t mind it and you don’t ). In today’s economy to me it just makes sense. He could not pay the rent he pays here and live in a decent place (plus we provide food , Internet, Cable and laundry . )I do feel sad sometimes that he doesn’t have his own place and more of a life but it does not seem to bother him and he does not seem to have any great desire for it . He has a GF but they are not compatiable to live together and she has kids (2) so be has become a sort “Dad “ figure for them , without having as much responsibility . He is very good to them though.
The frustrating part for me is that we are not part of that aspect of his life at all . I don’t like his GF much and so we stay out of that part of his life . He seems to prefer it that way too . It’s odd in a way how we live in the same house but have very separate lives .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.