Geyser in Every day scata

  • May 18, 2018, 8:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Mitski

If I had a child, there would be no way I would have them in school. Nope. No. No way.

Ten more dead. Nine children, one teacher. 45 of course takes to Twitter to address the public. Fucking coward afraid of standing in front of a camera live.

Makes me sick.

I heard of the shooting right before I was going to go to work, then promptly forgot about it because I’m now a therapist at the Alpenhorn (I did have a real entry about the day, but now. meh). A friend updated me on what happened in Texas and now I can’t think of anything else.

My heart aches and my brain wants to explode in anger.

So, instead of an entry, I will leave you with the video to the song title.

Maybe I’ll write later.


❂-☯ Periodically Dead ☯-❂ May 19, 2018

i'm surprised it happened in sana fe, texas. as far as i can recall, it's a small town near houston. i probably drove through it a hundred times during some summer months, years ago. i couldn't grasp it this morning when i heard it. i had to call my oldest kid in another nearby town and ask if any of her friends still had family in that area. thankfully not, cuz some of them have kids who're seniors in high school.
yeah something certainly needs to be done. i've got an older sister who claims in a rather loud voice that this is the end of days...but i don't agree with that one, not yet anyway.
but setting that aside: i mentioned to my wife that maybe they should make schools more like a prison, which i know wouldn't be fair to the kids, but maybe a safer place. and what gets me, here in california, they're wanting to arm teachers! who needs the extra danger of an unexperienced teacher, with a gun, in a situation like that? no, what we need, unfortunately are armed guards, trained by the police, or better yet, something like swat.

Gilraent ❂-☯ Periodically Dead ☯-❂ ⋅ May 19, 2018

I don't understand the whole arming teachers thing myself. That would be like giving me a gun.

❂-☯ Periodically Dead ☯-❂ Gilraent ⋅ May 19, 2018

well the idea, at least here in crazy california starts in colleges. sometime earlier this year some dude in the state senate here was pushing a bill threw to actually let students be armed...which is, in my view total insanity. then somebody suggested arming the teachers, professors and the like, supposedly better that an adult carry, instead of a "kid". apparently the more adult you are, the more settled and "mature enough" to quickly figure things out.
well the thing passed, i think. now the staff at colleges here have the option to carry. i still see this as rather ludicrous. it might work but i foresee some really bad shit coming around with people who have no training in what it takes to do that...i mean police and the military are trained, might not trust the police much, especially here in cali...but at least they are professional and know strategy and the like. the only other option i can see is to have, well, an "army" like unit, fully trained and all, based on campus which would give them the chance to be right there sooner than it take for cops to get there.
shit, it's even a shame we have to discuss things like this. i'm a boomer and the only things we had to worry about was the bullies in the school getting together under one leader and bugging the kids. it's a horrible world now, no doubt.

Leanne 🌈 May 19, 2018

Bird of Paradise May 20, 2018

If I still had kids in School I would be tempted to home school them.

Sister May 20, 2018

:-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.