Another DM from OD email. in A small but passable life.

  • April 26, 2018, 11:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

What did the new guy say, something like 400 to 500 daily users here now? It is sure feeling like a ghost town.

I received an email today- “Your reclaimed OD needs some attention…” I have ignored the three previous emails by NOT responding in any way and he still can’t get his shit together.

And people keep asking why I don’t return to OD. Okay, here’s another go at my reasoning. I think Bruce is desecrating the dead. Yeah, that’s it. He sold lifetime memberships, people died and they or their relatives decided to leave their diaries as legacies and then Bruce pulled the plug sealing those legacies away forever.

Carly Lomas spent the last five years of her life documenting living with a glioblastoma tumor taking up half the space in her skull. She wrote beautifully and passionately. A couple months after she died her diary was taken from the world.

How about Angel’s Bratt? Another legacy diary gone.

I can think of several more, but you get the point.

I know it’s a gray area with the legal mumbo jumbo and all. But there is a right and a wrong.

Okay, enough ranting.

Today was a good one. Coffee and some non-fiction reading this morning. A can of ravioli’s for lunch. About an hour in the pool followed by a long hot shower. A couple hour lie down while listening to NPR. A Red Baron hamburger pizza for dinner. Driving Mom to and from her playtime with her friends. And now I’m back sitting in my chair.

Did Hulu release all of season 2 of Handmaid’s Tale or just the first two episodes? There are only the first two on the aggregator site I use.

It’s 8:17pm and still 90 degrees out. Hopefully I’ll be able to open my window and shut off the A/C at midnight. I did last night and it was 70 degrees in here this morning. And quiet, with the A/C off.

I’m really not in the mood to break my boring routine or step out of my comfort zone, but I’m willing to make a go of it.

I mean really, it is a great opportunity to travel like I’ve never been able to travel before. Use a piece of plastic to pay for gasoline. Use a different plastic card to pay for a room every night. And still another card to harvest cash from a machine to pay for everything else. What’s not to look forward to?

I’m thinking I need to make it a challenge. A challenge to see how long we can keep driving around the country. If Mom is up to it I guess I’ve got no qualms about trying it.

I’ve got nothing else to do except sit in this chair. Which I’ve done for the last 360 days. I guess I could get out and about.

So yeah, two days and a wake up and we’re out of here.


woman in the moon April 26, 2018

My diary was still there when I went back. I was glad to see a lot of it.
I agree though that there should be a procedure for taking care of what we write on line. Some people write things they don't want made public. I suppose we all do to a degree. So who gets to read what we write after we die? Before? Can we count on it being saved? These words we type today, will they be here to read in ten years, twenty? What do you think?

Neogy Titwhistle woman in the moon ⋅ April 27, 2018

When I bought the lifetime membership on OD I naively thought it would be there forever and I would leave the password in my will for Daughter to do with what she wanted to.

Deleted user April 26, 2018

I wonder about that too !
I think your trip will be great !

Dirty Numb Angelboy April 27, 2018

I didn't go back since my diary can't get brought back because they said I deleted it. But I was able to reclaim it which is only possible if you didn't and I didn't delete it. I had a whole entry on it and pictures of my open diary to prove it. They only gave me 11 entries out of my some 500 entries. Fuck that place!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.