Sit Next To Me in Every day scata

  • March 7, 2018, 7:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Foster The People

6:11 pm

omg I don’t even know if I have the energy to move my fingers to type.

First I gotta question for all y’all. Have any of you hired a “move out” or “move in” cleaning service? If you have, how much were you charged?

I waaaaaaay undersold myself. I just charged my usual hourly rate. Yeah. I worked my fucking ass off. I should have gotten double, if not more.

Looking at google the price obviously varies. And of course it also varies by how big the house is. So I need to take a closer look at these places, ask how many square feet, and what they exactly expect from me. Then I’ll have to math. I hate having to math.

Learned my lesson today in that respect.

Remember the dog shit on the floor? Well there is a crawl space under the stairs. I knew I was going to have to get under there so I brought my flashlight. So I crawled in through cobwebs, and picked up I don’t know how many piles of dried up dog shit. It was a lot. I really feel bad for the dog that was locked down there. I really do.

So I did that, then awkwardly swept the crawl space. Lots of mouse shit, too. Then I dismantled the chewed up dog crate, dragged it up the stairs to the garage (huge crate. Wonder what kind of dog this was), Dragged this massive TV box full of trash (and maybe a dead body. It was heavy.) up stairs to the garage. Swept the laundry room, moving the washer and dryer, then poured water on some stuff that was stuck to the floor that wouldn’t sweep up. I let that sit and then went into the kitchen.

There are no words for that area either. Between the laundry room and the kitchen it took me three hours. THREE FUCKING HOURS. omg. If I got hungry, there were several dried up cherry tomatoes stuck in the back of the fridge. That fridge was nasty.

After I got the shelves of the fridge clean, I went back to the laundry room and scraped up what was stuck. Then mopped. While that was drying I tackled a microwave that hasn’t been cleaned in 10 years, the top of the stove that probably hasn’t been cleaned in that long, too. the oven wasn’t that bad on the inside, but the outside of the oven door… I don’t know how many times I wet it down, let it soak, wiped, soak again.

The counters were… gooey. Just… every inch was sticky.

Went back to the laundry room and sprinkled carpet refresher on the concrete and let it sit to get rid of the smell.

Hit the bathroom. The one down there wasn’t too bad.

Went into the hall bathroom.... ::sigh:: It was nasty, but not as nasty as the master bath. THAT one was gag worthy. And I didn’t have any bleach with me. The cleaner has bleach in it, but that tub needed to seriously soak in bleach water. When I go back I’m going to re-clean that one.

Tried to clean the ceiling fans. The fans were supposed to be white. You couldn’t see the white because of the dust. I used the swiffer to knock the dust off, but they were just plain dirty. As many times as I cleaned it (using my awesome degreaser that totally cleaned the oven) it just wouldn’t clean. It just smeared the dirt around. Went through several rags.

I sent the client a message about the wax I couldn’t get up, and about the fans. The only way you’re going to get them clean is if you take them off. There is no other way.

So because I couldn’t clean the way I want to clean I feel like I did a shitty job. ::sigh::

Saturday I meet with another guy who wants a move out clean, so I have to figure out a rate. I think I’m going to give him a call tomorrow to ask how big the place is so I can get a general idea.

omg I can’t type anymore.

I’ll catch up with you guys tomorrow.

See ya.


ghostwalker March 07, 2018

We wanted to use a cleanin/moving service when we moved jons mom, but everyone showed up to help so it wasn't necessary. They were going to charge something like $4000, but that was to load/transport 200 miles/unload a couple rooms of furniture. I don't think they ever got back to us with a cleaning quote.

ghostwalker March 07, 2018

*cleaning

Leanne 🌈 March 08, 2018

Do you go look at the property or do it by phone only?

It is a trail and error thing with the pricing. Been there done that with my business I always check out my competition. I always do a consult at the clients home.

Gilraent Leanne 🌈 ⋅ March 08, 2018

I go look at the property. I had no clue that there was piles and piles under this crawl space. I knew the kitchen needed scrubbed down, and the laundry room, too, seeing that's where the poor dog was. I didn't notice the space.
After doing some lovely googling, I'm going in to the next consult (Saturday) with a higher price. How high? Well, it of course depends on how bad it is.
The thing is, we are so rural. You're lucky if you make over minimum wage, so I don't want to quote too much and lose the client.
But I'll be damned if I make the same mistake again lol

Leanne 🌈 Gilraent ⋅ March 08, 2018

I feel you.

Deleted user March 11, 2018

If it were me pricing it out, I would use square footage as a base price
If they can afford a big place, they can afford to pay more, period
From there I would rate each room and use how "bad" each room was to tack on 10-20 however many dollars upward - and lastly, leave room for unexpected stuff like under the stairs in this case
They didn't tell you about how bad all the dog shit was, so that's gonna cost them extra after the fact

Gilraent Deleted user ⋅ March 12, 2018

good ideas :)

Sister March 15, 2018

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.