Dirty Paws in Every day scata

  • Feb. 19, 2018, 3:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Of Monsters and Men

2:10 pm

My morning didn’t start off very good.

I woke, showered, let the dogs out. I let them in and the smell hits me. SKUNK! omg One of the dogs got sprayed by a skunk!!!

I went down and smoked a cigarette, muttered to myself. Drank some coffee. I went upstairs to look for the bottle of peroxide I saw just recently. I went into Pam’s bathroom, thinking that would be the obvious place. She asked, “What are you looking for?” I explained about Tyson getting sprayed. She then said, “Tyson? Tyson got sprayed?” So I smell checked the dogs. I do not advise that you get as close as I did. Tyson was fine. Skittles, on the other hand, was not.

The peroxide wasn’t in that bathroom, or the other. Came down here and checked. Nope. So I opened up one of the cabinets in the kitchen. Why we put it there is beyond me, but I’m just glad we had it.

Peroxide, A tablespoon or a little more (I didn’t measure, and I don’t remember the exact recipe) of baking soda, and a teaspoon (or more?) of Dawn. Mix it up. Wet the dog down, then bathe with the mix, then rinse. It works really well.

Pam was nice enough to get Skit into the tub for me. I don’t know how I was going to do it if she wasn’t available… I would have figured out a way. I scrubbed him down, but still, I smell skunk on him. Another sniff test when I got home, and it seems that I missed his muzzle. The rest of him doesn’t smell bad.

I think Ty might have rubbed up against Skittles, though. He smells a teeny bit skunky, but I can still smell it everywhere. Blech. Nothing is helping. I have some carpet stuff to sprinkle on the carpets. I might do that. I just don’t have the energy to vacuum right now. I guess I could let the Roombas take care of it. hmm. I’ll brb.

Ok. I’m going to let that sit for a little bit before turning the Roomba down here on. The one upstairs is running seeing that it is programmed to run at 2 pm.

Anyhoo.

Worked at Client #5’s house this morning, and hit the second B&B (The bull and Lion Inn) this afternoon. I was going to do the B&B yesterday, but the guests were still there. In fact, I don’t think they left until this morning. That, or the dish washer really holds the heat. I should tell the owner, but… eh. Whatever. He’s an away from home owner, so what would he know about it. Feh. I did cheat, though. The washer is tiny so I have to do a few loads of laundry. Especially when the guests use every single available towel, hand towel, and wash cloth. So I ran the towels after the sheets. I was making sure everything was gone from the guests and stumbled across a hoard of fresh towels etc so I left the towels in the dryer and just replaced. I’ll swing by tomorrow if I work at Client #3’s. If not, I’ll take care of them next Monday when I work again.

Now I know why the previous housekeeper took the laundry home with her. It just takes way longer than the time you spend cleaning. I would do that, but I’m not going to put the wear and tear on our washer and dryer. Not unless the owner is willing to give us half towards a new one if they break down. Nope. Not going to chance it.

I know I have to catch up with a bunch of you. I’ve been really depressed and haven’t been sleeping well the past week, only grabbing a few hours a night. I spent all day Saturday in bed, which I never ever do unless I’m in a “I should go to the ER” flare/back pain situation, or if I’m hung over. Neither was the case. I just couldn’t deal with people on fb or even here. I just didn’t have it in me. I was locked in my own mind from 2 am on. Tried to nap, but my brain just wouldn’t shut the fuck up.

Even yesterday I couldn’t make myself stay online. And if you know me, this is a very rare thing, indeed.

I totally fucked up my wrist last night. omg does it hurt today! I lost the remote, and I thought it might have slipped under the couch so I plopped down on the floor, using my left to brace myself. Stupid, stupid, stupid! It made me yell out loud. The pain really hasn’t let up today. Even wearing the brace isn’t stopping the pain. Gawd I hope I didn’t mess it up too bad. I go back on the 1st for a recheck, and hopefully the last visit. But if I fucked it up? Gawd knows how long I’ll be stuck with the brace or whatever.

I should probably be wearing the damn thing. :: sigh:: I guess I’ll put it on.

Oh! The good part of the day? Pam did the laundry for me here :) So freakin’ sweet of her to do that! Totally surprised to see folded laundry when I came in the door :) Twas nice :)

See ya!


Leanne 🌈 February 20, 2018

How bad is the smell of skunk?

Teflon Superhero Leanne 🌈 ⋅ February 21, 2018

Not Gilraent, but skunk from far off, like if you happen to smell it passing in a car isn't TOO terribly bad. But if you get sprayed or an animal gets sprayed and you're right there where it's concentrated it's really really overbearing and kind of permeates EVERYTHING.
It goes from a normal "oh, that's a skunk" smell, almost into an intense ...I can only describe it as a burning rubber or being around a ton of new tires or asphalt but so much stronger. It's just extremely overbearing and dense and horrible!

Leanne 🌈 Teflon Superhero ⋅ February 21, 2018

Thanks for the info. I have never been around a skunk.

Teflon Superhero Leanne 🌈 ⋅ February 21, 2018

Oh dang, you're lucky! I love the little things, they're adorable...but if you get too close your next few weeks of smelling and everything that picks up the smell is absolutely ruined lol

Leanne 🌈 Teflon Superhero ⋅ February 21, 2018

lol

Gilraent Teflon Superhero ⋅ February 28, 2018

you can literally taste it.

Sister February 21, 2018

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.