Gray Man fail. in A small but passable life.

  • Feb. 8, 2018, 8:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I went to the hospital today and sat for a bit, helping Mom with her lunch. I talked to the nurse for a bit. I left and came home to listen to NPR. I was pretty much stuck to the landline. Mom called and said they were turning her loose. I went back to the hospital to fetch her home. The CNA gal with the sweet accent that came with the wheelchair asked if we’d been there before. We both said yes. She said she remembered me. Well damn, here I thought I’d been doing a good job of being the “gray man”. Apparently not. I didn’t have the new awesome sexy hat last time but I did have the same awesome sexy Hawaiian shirt. I’m either good looking enough or weird looking enough to be remembered. What I do know is that I surely remembered her. It was remembering the “switching from the hospital gown to the muumuu and getting all tangled up in the wires episode” that we both remembered from the last time we’d met.

So yeah, Mom is back home sitting in her chair.

We had stopped on the way home to drop off a prescription. I went back a couple of hours ago to pick it up. On the way there I stopped to fill up the car. $32. A little over 13 gallons. The last time I filled the car up was right before Christmas. Not too bad.

Yesterday would have been a good pool day at 82 degrees. Today would have been even better at 84 degrees. But alas, I wasn’t there. Tomorrow for sure.

So yeah, I’ll sit here once more.


Deleted user February 08, 2018

Lord, get me where it’s 84 :-) Glad your Mom is better !

Gilraent February 09, 2018

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.