A record, in A small but passable life.

  • Jan. 30, 2018, 12:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterdays high temperature was a record setting 82 degrees. I didn’t go out. The wind was blowing. I’m not really a fan of wind, no matter how warm. I’ve spent too many years in the Llano Estacado to be a fan of windy days. I remained inside lying around and listening to NPR.

And right now at 11:38am it looks like a good day to lie poolside. Nary a breath of wind and kind of cloudy. I’ll try it here in a bit after lunch.

Mom still has the cough. Not getting any better or worse. Nothing to do but wait.

Daughter called last night. We had a good long conversation. She’s doing well.

I’m still reading the biography. I’m not even halfway through it. I will persevere.

I’m trying to figure out how to get out of going to a Superbowl party. The simplest way would be to just disappear beforehand. But Mom will need a ride to attend. And I’m the driver. Gah.

So yeah, I think it is time for lunch and then some time poolside.


Gilraent January 30, 2018

Tessa has a good idea.

Deleted user January 30, 2018

Interest your Mom in one of those diffusers ( They cost about $20.00 on Amazon ) You can put Thieves or Eucalyptus oil in one with water and they are great at humidifying a small room . I use one in my LR and bedroom . They run 6 hours without being refilled , then turn themselves off . They are great for persistent cough and having her sip water as much as possible will thin her congestion and decrease her cough too !

Neogy Titwhistle Deleted user ⋅ January 31, 2018

She drinks water all day. She says anything that 'stinks' gives her a headache. The cough medicine seems to be working.

Deleted user Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ January 31, 2018

That’s good ! My Dad said allergy season has come early to AZ this year :-( Stuff is blooming early .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.