Open Diary entry November 2009 in Open diary entries

  • Dec. 28, 2017, 4:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

NJM 14: Chitty day
Oh

My

Fucking

God

Whattaday.

I had…

2 cats with fevers over 105, which meant sticking them in a cat bag, shoving the hose from the tub into the bag and freezing them until the fever started to break… oh about 20-30 minutes per cat.

Another cat with loose stools.

yet ANOTHER cat that decided to try and sever my left arm off (I would have let her if she went for above the shoulder) with her back claws. Plus she poked me good right in a vein in my right wrist. And all we wanted was to feel her bladder. It didn’t happen.

One puppy with an ear infection to recheck, which thankfully is cleared up.

another dog with an enlarged prostate… have you ever done a prostate exam? even on a human? no? well. Dogs like it even less then humans do.

One puppy booster, which took all of 3 minutes.

and the Coup de Grace an impacted dog.

yes. impacted with a stricture.

ok. The owner called said that Beau had loose stools all week. Now it looks like he’s cramping. He can’t straighten himself out. keeps straining to poop.

The poor dog walked in, all hunched up. I weigh him in at 63 lbs. He weighed 61 last visit when the poor dog got shot.

Yes, Shot.

Got the dog in a room go to take his temp. Beau FREAKS out when I stick a teeny thermometer in his ass. No fever. Doc RD comes in to examine, goes to do the manditory intact male prostate exam. Dog tries to climb onto my head to get as far away from RD as possible, screaming the whole way.

We do Xrays… the 2 pounds the dog gained? yeah, I’m sure it was all shit.

Beau has a bad habbit of eating dead things, especially anything left behind from hunters. He loves deer legs. I guess he must have eaten a whole feckin deer the amount of bone that was stuck in his bowels.

We did bloodwork, knocked him out, and spent an hour… a fucking HOUR giving him enemas, sticking our hands up his butt to remove the bone hard poo stuck in him, more enemas, more digging.

the stench was unbelieveable.

we take some more Xrays. nope, not cleaned out yet.

yeah, more digging, fun fun fun!

we finally get past the stricture, which loosened up once we got all the shit and bone out of the dog.

You should have been there… really. I would have given you some gloves so you could have dug in too!

My day was supposed to end at 10am. The other clinic ended up having to reschedule their appointments because of all the emergencies we had.

I didn’t get home till 1pm, because I had to clean up all the messy stink.

I hope the building smells better when I go in on Monday.

sigh

I do hope anyone who had to work today had a better day than I did.


Leanne 🌈 December 28, 2017

Star Maiden December 29, 2017

well, that sounds like it was a fun day.

Gilraent Star Maiden ⋅ December 29, 2017

lol And I loved that job most of the time.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.