Another Monday in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Dec. 4, 2017, 6:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Watching for J’s bus and have the washing machine going. I have Polka Dot and Shazaam kitty’s blankets in the washer this morning. Polka Dot sleeps in my garage most of the time and as long as I wash his blanket once or twice a week then the garage doesn’t get to smelling like, well dog. Shazaam likes to come into the garage as long as there is a door open, but once I close the garage or walk in door, he wants back out. Just as well as he is way to curious for his own good. I do have a kitty litter tub already fixed in the garage, just in case he decides to stay in there. NOTHING worse than cat poop smell and besides, once they poop in a spot they return and return. Do not want that stink in the garage.

J’s bus just arrived and my computer tells me it is 5:54. So our day begins. Part of the outside lights are on (the ones that I can set the time for morning time and evening time). I FINALLY got the tree put up yesterday and O and J put the ornaments on it. It does look pretty and should as long as it took me to get the branches fixed. As I worked and worked to eliminate as many “holes” in the undecorated tree and I was trying to remember why I thought an artificial tree was “easier”. I can assure you my artificial tree is not easier to put up or take down. What will be missing when it is time to take it down are the cedar needles. But is it really that much easier? Not sure that it is and I do miss that natural cedar smell through out the Christmas season. Course I don’t have to water the artificial tree nor worry about it drying out too much, but still. I may just go with the real thing next year unless I find an artificial and really good artificial tree on clearance after Christmas.

So what else did I do this weekend. Pretty much the normal stuff like laundry and dishes, but most of the time was spent with little projects. Like getting and checking more Christmas lights. I just kept finding lights in the big bags that we’d taken out of the attic last weekend. I could light up this whole valley if I had a way to power them but thankfully I don’t. If only I was taller, younger, had more energy and stamina. lol

Today will be another day of setting Christmas things out and cleaning up and putting away the stuff I don’t use this year. J moved the 4 32” trees that I’ve been setting up high on both ends of the LR as a hint. I may go ahead and get that tall ladder out since he gave me the hint. I have a 4’ tree in the garage that I’ve put lights on twice. They are the old chaser lights and they worked. Well they worked UNTIL I changed out a bulb for the upteenth time and the whole set went out. Enough was enough and I removed the lights and the bulbs and took it from the kitchen back to the garage and started over. It will be done in red with white lights. I need to put the red ornaments on it today and then a place for it. I know. I may have should have picked out the place BEFORE I spent too long on decorating it. That’s me though. The idea first and then what to do with the idea last.

The weather today is suppose to be in the 70’s with a chance of rain. We really need rain but with rain comes a cold front and the temps will plummet. I don’t want plummeting temperatures but it will happen anyway. I also need to go buy some groceries. I have a list started and it isn’t really too much yet but I’m sure when I finally get to the store my cart will have other stuff in it besides what’s on the list.

Yesterday I read some of my entries from two years ago when I was so looking forward to retirement and I got excited all over again just reading my entries. It was so very worth it to retire when I did and even though I’m busier than I ever expected it is my busy. MY busy. Do not miss that mess one little second ever!!

Take care and God Bless


aunty EM December 04, 2017

Sounds like you are going all out with the decorating. We don't have much space in our apartment so I just do some small displays. Those are up now and it's time to move into the shopping phase of Christmas. Thought I had lots of ideas, but they either turned out to be not great or else I've forgotten what they were...

FormerlyMe December 04, 2017

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.