Buying Stamps in The Stuff That's Not Interesting But Is The Most Interesting Stuff I'll Write

  • Nov. 12, 2017, 4:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I know it has been a horribly long time since I’ve written and there’s no excuse other than I haven’t felt like it. Not even when my birthday rolled around. I’ve spent the last month trying, rather successfully at first, to reorganize my life and reorient myself around the choices that I made.

I’ve spent a serious amount of time working on my novel which is coming along nicely.

Everything was going fine until I started the new job and suddenly couldn’t afford my dietary supplement. I’ve been without it for more than a month now and it’s been a rather difficult time. I find myself restless, without really being able to sleep, and prone to illness. It also means that I don’t drink nearly as much as I used to, and when I do drink, it leaves me down for the count.

I’m still not completely devoid of my depressive state, but I’m not drowning in it any longer. It’s been forever since I’ve talked to Richard, and I’ve also stopped talking to Eric. Amazingly, Heather and the rest of my friends threw me a birthday party, which was nice, but I became a little too inebriated and sent some unfortanate texts which may have led to some shunned opportunities.

I don’t really care except I’ve become even more isolated than before. I’ve tried to socialize with my little brothers more, and Cameron is surprisingly receptive, but they’re young twenty-somethings that want to go and have their own fun. I’m not really a part of that anymore.

I suppose I just wanted to write to say that I’m alive, I’m slowly doing better, but the obstacles I’ve encountered are more formidable than I anticipated.

One more thing is that I’ve gotten a pen pal in Minneapolis. Don’t ask how that started, but it’s nice to suddenly have to buy stamps again.


Deleted user November 15, 2017

Good to know you are ok. Hope you get your supplement back . Impulse texting can sure get us into trouble :-)

KissOfLife! November 18, 2017

A penpal? Cute to see people still do that these days. I just remembered that I used to write to some chick in Ohio when I was like 14.

Fawkes Gal November 20, 2017

Glad to hear you're doing ok. I haven't thought of penpals in ages, but that was always fun, waiting for letters in the mail.

Deleted user February 17, 2018

Pen pals rock ! Nice to get something in the mail but bills !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.