You Asked For It... in You can Haz Entries

  • April 4, 2017, 5:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

When I come back here to write, I hear from a couple of you that I should write more. it’s not that I am ignoring you. You guys know me, and you know I wouldn’t do that. I have just been struggling with what to write.

Well, here’s a good story for you.

Let me give you some background first.

When I was married, my wife and I shared a storage space with a friend. I hadn’t thought about it in ages. I figured it had been shut down and emptied out ages ago. I didn’t even remember what was in it.

Friday morning, I’m doing laundry and cleaning the house, and I get a random Facebook message from our friend.

“Are you home? I just emptied out the storage space. Can I come by and drop your stuff off?”

Now let’s keep in mind, I haven’t heard from this friend in (literally) years. I tell her of course, I’m home, and come on by. She comes by and drops off about nine boxes of stuff. Almost all of them full of stuff that belongs to my ex. So I had to sort through it all.

There were boxes of collectibles that belonged to her. For a second, I thought about texting her to let her know I had all of this stuff.

And then I decided not to.

The last exchange we had was not pleasant. She said some pretty mean stuff and made it clear that we weren’t to speak again.

So I threw her stuff away.

I felt kind of bad. But at the same time, I didn’t.

I look at it this way: if she really wanted that stuff, she would have asked about it before she moved away eight years ago.

So it was basically like I had my marriage dumped in my lap eight years after the fact.

There were many good things about the marriage, don’t get me wrong, but yeah, I’d rather not be reminded of it.

I’m shaking it off, but it’s been a bit strange. I didn’t think it would hit me the way it did.

How was your weekend?


Last updated April 04, 2017


auburn_girl April 04, 2017

I probably would have texted and said she has 1 week to make arrangements or it was going bye bye. Then again if she's been such a bitch maybe it's better to save yourself the hassle and sheer annoyance.

Drilldude auburn_girl ⋅ April 04, 2017

She was pretty adamant about not contacting her, so I made the call to respect her wishes, as it were. But I understand your point. I don't think there was a right way or wrong way to handle it.

Lobbastah April 04, 2017

Meh, I'd have probably done the same. And my ex and I speak/email/text nearly every day (co-parenting) and are cordial.

Drilldude Lobbastah ⋅ April 05, 2017

I don't regret it. Still, it was weird.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.