*hums Sesame Street theme song while clenching fist* in The Stuff That's Not Interesting But Is The Most Interesting Stuff I'll Write

  • Feb. 8, 2017, 6:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Everything happening in the US is just so dispiriting that I don’t really want to write because then I’ll have to think… and I’d like not to think for a little while… but that won’t happen. At least not for the foreseeable future because we have to be aware and cognizant of everything happening. We have to document it.

A few days after the events of the last entry, Loco set-up something with Crystal by himself, despite the fact that I did warn him about her meltdown. I’m fine with it because it lets me stay way out of the situation, like New Jersey-out. Thinking about all the possible things that could go wrong is just agonizing. Especially because Loco, Kevin and the rest of our crew all went out a few days afterward and I got all these huffy messages from Crystal about how we didn’t invite her (to guys’ night) and she feels really put-out and blah blah blah. Look, I know how upsetting it can be to be left out, but calm down and let the right time come.

Eric, the straight guy who was really friendly, left for Cambodia. He. Keeps messaging me things like “I miss you” and it’s kind of freaking me out. I guess it’s nice to be needed and wanted, but I mean, fucking enjoy Phnom Penh. I guess it’s an incredible experience and part of me is jealous, not that I’ve ever thought of going to Cambodia (I almost forgot it existed until he mentioned that that was his vacation destination), but I just miss traveling.

I’m transitioning jobs in the next few weeks and so I’m looking forward to having set hours and having a switch-up in my life. It’s been ridiculous trying to deal with the financial blowback of the post-holidays gloom. We all know what it’s like, after everybody has overspent on the holidays, business dips and we all hit dire straits trying to figure out how to pinch every last penny. It’s pretty typical.

The other night, at the bar, there was just us. The regular crowd. Heather, Omar, Juli, Mark and myself plus the bartender with just Eric missing. We were playing darts, drinking beer, laughing and remarking how we all managed to survive the holidays, maybe with less dignity intact than we’d hoped, but there we were. Heather stopped wearing her engagement ring since her fiancé got punished for getting in a fight and will have to stay in prison for even longer. Omar confessed that he’s in love with Heather and is saddled with the responsibility of realizing her indifference toward romance with him. Juli was trying to figure out what to do after discovering that her husband has been embezzling from the family business for the last eight years. Mark was drunk, pledging to give up cocaine, stick with pot and trying to convince me to road trip with him to Michigan to pick-up his guns.

And there I was, perfectly content to win at darts and try not to think about things that upset me. Like the fact that all these articles about Trump or Devos or whomever always end with the same stupid phrase, “They’ve never been held accountable before, but now they will be.” And I just think, by who?! Congress? They shut-up Elizabeth Warren for reading a letter by Coretta Scott King. They confirmed Devos to lead the Department of Education (I’d feel more comfortable with Big Bird, at least he knows the alphabet) the day before they introduced a bill to dismantle it. The judicial branch? It takes very severe steps to get them involved and if they do, it will be a big help until the Executive Branch starts meddling with the make-up of the judiciary. The people? Who do you think elected all of these people?

There is no one coming to save you. Buckle down, and wait for everyone to get fed up.

There was a political cartoon that made me laugh in despair. Two protestors were holding signs, the first sign said “THE END IS NEAR” the second protestor’s sign said “THIS WILL NEVER END” as he said to the first protestor, “Your optimism disgusts me”

Whatever I was thinking, I won the game of darts.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.