Birthday Dinner - 1/16/2010 in Open diary entries

  • July 2, 2016, 8:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

If it wasn’t for good company, I would have left. Thankfully P was my date :)
We decided to go to a local place for dinner tonight. Its called Trapper’s and I advise to anyone passing through our quaint little town to go to Hardee’s instead.
It sucked.
We waited. and waited. drank a gallon of horrible iced tea. it was cloudy, and way too strong. I’m sure it was probably weeks old.
I ordered Ahi Tuna with risotto. Pretty hard to mess that up.
They managed.
Was supposed to have a ginger glaze, and seared to medium rare. I think the glaze was something created by KC masterpiece, and watered down to boot; and either the grill wasn’t hot enough for the tuna, or they held it above the flame for 2 seconds. No sear at all. The risotto wasn’t risotto but the same wild rice that was served with P’s shrimp with some saltier than sin sauce thrown in it.
The only good part of the meal (besides the company of sweet P) was the fresh green beans.
P said her shrimp wasn’t bad, but the teriaki glaze was the same crap that was on my tuna I think, and the rice was swimming in it.
Too pricey for what I could have made at home. In fact I intend to re-create the meal soon… and do it right.


ich. I just saw the age change up there.
feh.
Someone get me some coffee lol I’m too old to get it myself heh

Notes: --------------------------------------------------------------------

:) Happy birthday.

I’m glad it was a decent day, horrible dinner aside. Blech. Did you complain to the manager and get a partial credit? [Nocturnal State] [p] 1/16/2010 10:02:25 PM

happy birthday, hon!

i’m sorry dinner was so craptacular.

[The Good Witch Bitch] [p] 1/16/2010 11:43:45 PM

Happy Birthday!! [Cereal_Killer] [p] 1/17/2010 10:37:12 AM


Last updated July 02, 2016


Sister July 03, 2016

Damn...
I hate when a meal is horrible and expensive to boot. Ugh.
Hopefully they've gotten better or closed since then. Lol

Gilraent Sister ⋅ July 03, 2016

Thankfully closed. There are better restaurants in town. Nothing fancy but a whole hell of a lot better.

Sister Gilraent ⋅ July 05, 2016

I went to Stone Hill a LOOOONG time ago. We walked through the entire town and by the time we got there everyone knew we were coming. lol

Gilraent Sister ⋅ July 05, 2016

lol yep that's Hermann!
Would you believe that in my 15 years of living here, I've never been to Stone Hill? Drank plenty of their wine, but never set foot in the cellars.

Sister Gilraent ⋅ July 05, 2016

I mentioned Stone Hill because of a restaurant they have there that apparently was once a stable. Really nice place.
And, yes. A HUGE fan of their wine. Golden Rhine was my top favorite for a while. Now that I'm a sufficient lush I will drink them all. LOL

Sister Gilraent ⋅ July 05, 2016

And I can believe it. Just like I've lived here my entire life and have never been up inside the Arch. I'm down there all the time, but will pass and am not interested in going up.

raynedrop July 16, 2016

How disappointing. That meal sounded really tasty. I hope your recreation turned out well :D

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.