A Lesson After Dying in Things That I'm Grateful For

  • Feb. 9, 2016, 5:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My grandfather died this morning. Don’t get too excited, it wasn’t the one we’ve been praying will die for ages, it was another of my grandfathers. (I have 3 remaining grandfathers and only one grandmother left.)

The side of my family to whom he belonged is not as wealthy as the other side and they are struggling financially to figure out how to pay for everything. People are coming together to max out credit cards and it’s become this sad lesson in death. It’s incredibly sad how little preparation our system has in place for those who die. And even after you die, financial woes aren’t over.

My aunt who died nearly ten years ago had her identity stolen and someone was opening credit cards and charging things in her name and now the credit company wants the next of kin to pay the debt accrued after her death because THEY issued a credit card to a dead person. Fuck credit card companies… I mean, they fuck you.

It’s ludicrous. So, today I got my company’s benefits package and immediately signed up for life insurance. At the very least, I won’t burden my family with a bunch of ridiculous debt while they figure out what the hell to do with my body.


WistfulSlayer February 09, 2016

Sorry for your loss, hope everything works out.

I have willed my body to a medical school. They will practice surgeries on it (I assume), and when they are done they cremate and give the ashes to the family, free of charge. I think my family will only be responsible for the transport. I looked long and hard to find one in the area that will still accept the body after organs have been donated. I don't know if that's something that could be done in your grandfather's situation but I wanted to let you know that this exists.

~Octopussy~ WistfulSlayer ⋅ February 09, 2016

That's a great idea! I'll pass it on.

Chestercopperpot101 February 18, 2016

Sorry for your loss. Regardless of how we feel about people losing a loved one always stinks.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.