paleo pad thai in Whole 30/post w30 eating

  • Jan. 26, 2016, 6:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Phew. This has been involved. I made this recipe from the Well Fed website. Mine definitely doesn’t look as nice as hers, of course.

alt text

First of all, I must say, that sunshine sauce is freaking delicious. I had to make it with cashew butter, though, because I couldn’t find any sunbutter at my store without sugar. It pretty much tastes exactly like the peanut satay sauce from Thai Kitchen that I get in the jar.

So, modifications for the recipe. I left out the snap peas because I didn’t feel like buying them, plus I don’t really like them. I also got bean sprouts because they’re one of my favorite parts of pad thai. Not sure how much I like the canned version of them, though. They’re not as crunchy as I like.

I do wish the recipe made a little more. I thought about doubling, but at that moment, didn’t feel like making more sunshine sauce. I will probably make another batch tomorrow, though, so I have some extra when I reheat the leftovers. I have extra chicken thighs and squash, so I could probably throw together another batch.

Oh, the other thing I did a little differently was to cook the chicken thighs in the crockpot. It’s the fool proof way I know how to do it, but one day I’ll have a sharp knife and be able to cube my chicken raw so it actually makes nice cubes like you get from a restaurant. I’m trying to remember what I put in with the thighs....I rubbed them down with ginger, garlic, salt, and pepper. In the pot with them I put some minced (dried) onion, red pepper flakes, rice vinegar, coconut aminos, and a little fish sauce. In hindsight, I’d leave out the fish sauce. I could taste it a bit more than I liked in the final product.

So, taste....I feel like it’s missing something, but I’m not sure what. Could just be sugar. I’m too tired to figure out it.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.