Right For Me in The Stuff That's Not Interesting But Is The Most Interesting Stuff I'll Write

  • Dec. 23, 2015, 12:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I know I haven’t been writing that often, but it’s honestly because I’m depressed and I hate depressed writing. There’s a defeatist bleakness that permeates any writing that I do and it isn’t what I want to project out into the world.

There’s nothing really happening. I work all the time. I passed my classes. I hang out with the straight boys every week. I avoid my mother as much as possible, which is completely impossible so I get angry and irritated for no reason.

It also doesn’t help that I’m trying to prevent myself from all that spiraling introspection for which I’m known simply because when there’s no variety in life, there’s really nothing that can be gleaned from further thought. All I can do is try to survive these holidays, wait for school to start again and begin a plan.

Part of my mother’s stress stems from the fact that my grandfather/her father is cutting her out of his will and therefore evicting my whole family and countless others. Which means that everyone is faced with the prospect of being homeless. I just know that it would perhaps be for the best if I went back to SoCal.

Is this what your thirties are supposed to be? Finding yourself faced with a meaningless void. I’m too cynical to believe in anything anymore. I’m too sensitive to put myself out there without fear. And I’m too wounded to believe that love is out there waiting for me. What does that make my future? I could keep charging forward and doing what is right for me. It makes sense, I sacrificed some time for other people by coming home and I’m completely miserable. But there has to be some middle ground.

See where this is going? See why I don’t write during the holiday depression? You know how I combatted holiday depression in the past? I left home. Five years ago, I was in New Orleans. Three and four years ago, I was in Portland. Two years ago, I was in Los Angeles. And last year, I came back and visited, which was nice because I got to get out of town before I wanted to kill anyone.

Moral of the story: Don’t come home. EVER.


black_and_blue December 23, 2015

When it comes to depressed writing, I totally get that. I hate that most of the things I write also have the same tone. Yet, all I can do is being authentic, and much to my dismay the result is depressive writing! I'm leaving this note in an attempt to leave some consolation that you aren't quite as isolated as you may think, at least in terms of how you feel. I could've easily written every word of this entry. If I copied and pasted it as my own, I can guarantee that anyone who knows me well would think that I wrote it about myself. Every. Single. Sentence.

KissOfLife! December 24, 2015

Yeah I think that's why my entries are so scarce these days. I'm just not doing anything interesting.

So, it's SoCal that you hate, right? I always get confused which end of the state you like and which you don't.

~Octopussy~ KissOfLife! ⋅ December 24, 2015

I have different reasons for disliking each. NorCal=proximity to my family. SoCal=constant fucking sunshine.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.