Work Day in Never Say Never

  • Nov. 24, 2015, 8:33 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am at work early. Which I didn’t mean to be but when it takes just 20 minutes to do a commute that usually takes 35, that’s what happens. Also it’s a way less stressful 20 minutes since there is just no traffic. Working up here in the burbs would be a whole lot more tolerable if the everyday commute looked like the Thanksgiving week commute.

Tomorrow I will work from home, which means I will be away from this office – with its gray cubes and florescent lighting and boss who doesn’t listen – for five whole days. I am so happy about that.

I completed my freelance project and they seem happy about the work. Maybe there will be more where that came from.

I am going to do Thanksgiving with S after a discussion about how I might not because I am sick of competing with a certain “best friend” of his. Am I making up problems that don’t really exist? I don’t think so. The other people in our lives witnessing certain things don’t think so. But he maintains that I am not having conversations based on reality.

But first I must get through today’s workday and then tomorrow’s workday. What kind of job would make me happy? I really don’t know.


Ginger Snap November 24, 2015

I loved the commute today, too.

Don't listen to S. The reality is, his "best friend" is in love with him and he knows it and he takes advantage of that fact. They both throw it in your face and that's just plain mean, incredibly disrespectful and downright abusive.

Why isn't she going somewhere else for Thanksgiving???

Athena Ginger Snap ⋅ November 24, 2015

We had a huge discussion about it Saturday night, with me saying exactly those things: She is in love with you and you are the ONLY person who refuses to see it. And why isn't she going to be with her family for Thanksgiving -- her family who lives nearby and whom she enjoys? Because she wants to spend Thanksgiving with you, that's why. I told him those things, straight up. He acts baffled but I think he's utterly thrilled by it.

Jafael November 24, 2015

I'm with you on loving the freedom of the next several days!

Don't believe him when he tries to change your sense of reality that way, just because it will make him able to do what he wants without regard to your feelings! May your Thanksgiving go beautifully!

At Last November 24, 2015

He knows and he loves it. Horrible! Enjoy your time away from the office and what Oscar said.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.